GINDARA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

GindaraMiso-marinated black cod. Also known as THE BEST DISH THE JAPANESE HAVE EVER INVENTED. EVER. This is seriously my “must have” dish at Hapa Izakaya or Guu. But now that I know to make it, I might not ever order it again!!! Muahaha… And because I’m nice and generous, I’ll share the recipe with you.

I had this for the very first time at Hapa Izakaya (ironically where I work now…ha) and fell in love immediately. I’ve never had fish that melted in my mouth so delicately. It was like eating butter. But for $11.49 per fillet in the restaurants? Nah, I’ll make it at home myself. But where to get the fish? And how to cook it? I’ve never cooked fish before and it seems like a pretty pricey fish to buy. This idea required further research.

On New Year’s Day, I’m shopping at T&T and I saw that black cod steaks were on sale — $11.99/lb, down from $19.99/lb. I thought about it, walked around, was at the checkout, and got my boyfriend to fetch a bag for me. I had to. I just had to. And luckily, these fish were frozen so I was able to bust out this recipe at anytime….and today was the today.

So, I had the fish, I had the ingredients already on-hand but still, it required more research as I have never cooked fish before. See below.

Sablefish, black cod, butterfish. Different names but they’re all the same. The sablefish is one of the most fattiest fish in the sea. It is rich in Omega 3 fatty acids and when cooked, falls apart easily and flakes off with the touch of a fork. It’s heavenly. Apparently, it only takes 15-20 minutes in the oven. But how to know when it’s done? I guess this will be a trial-and-error type of recipe…

Now, for this dish. Incredibly easy. Make the marinade – miso, sake, mirin, soy sauce. Marinate. Bake.

Make this. Now. You’ll thank me later.
Gindara Gindara Gindara Gindara
Gindara – miso-marinated black cod (from Rasa Malaysiak)

What you’ll need:
- 4 black cod steaks (fillets are better!)
- 1/4 cup sake
- 1/4 cup mirin
- 4 tbsp white miso paste
- 3 tsp sugar

What you’ll need to do:
1. Mix the marinade ingredients in a container large enough to fit all the steaks/fillets.
2. Pat dry the fish with paper towel and toss into the marinade. Make sure that all sides have been covered in the marinade. Marinate for 2-5 days.
3. When ready to cook, preheat the oven to 400F.
4. Place fish on an alumininum foil-lined baking sheet. Bake for 20 minutes.
5. Serve with rice or noodles. Makes 4 servings.

2 thoughts on “GINDARA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. Thanks for the recipe. I’m marinating a batch now. I didn’t have sake so I just use the Chinese shiao xing wine. Hope it will taste good too. I bought the black cod from T&T Richmond. They have whole black cod for 6 dollars a lb. I appreciate you posting these kind of recipes. Its simple with few ingredients and so easy to follow. I hope you keep it up. Good luck and have fun on your upcoming vacation.

Leave a Reply

