Adding more spice to life.

Let’s face it: I really missed blogging. I hardly blog on a regular basis anymore because let’s be honest here, I don’t have anything interesting to say anymore. But I still missed blogging, particularly sharing part of my life with others. I tend to blog a lot when I’m emotional and I am happy to say that I am finally content with the majority of my life. What better way to celebrate than to share something much more near and dear to my heart: my recipes!

My cooking style is simple — quick, convenient, and delicious. I can’t stand being in the kitchen for more than an hour, two hours if it’s an elaborate meal. I cook a lot of Asian cuisine and, as much as I can, try to make things healthy. I also really enjoy the salty/sweet balance in different cuisines which is why I chose the name umami for my blog.

Anyways, although I am headed to Taipei and Japan in just two days, I wanted to get a post or two out before my departure. On the menu today? One of my favourite Korean dishes, kimchi jjigae.

Kimchi jjigae is basically a Korean stew made with leftover kimchi, pork belly and tofu. It’s simple comfort food and is perfect for these cold and rainy days that Vancouver’s been having in recent weeks. If you’re not a fan of pork belly, feel free to substitute it with a can of tuna (and let me know how it is!).

Kimchi jjigae Kimchi jjigae Kimchi jjigae Kimchi jjigae

Kimchi jjigae
What you’ll need:
– 1 lb pork belly, sliced
– 4 cloves garlic, minced
– 3 cups kimchi (napa cabbage variety), with juice
– 2 tbsp gochujang (optional)
– 1 medium onion
– 4 cups water
– 1 block silken tofu, diced into 1″ cubes
– 4 scallions, sliced into 2″ pieces

What you need to do:
1. In a deep saucepan/pot, brown pork belly on all sides. Once browned, remove most of the pork fat that has liquefied and discard or save for future use.
2. Add minced garlic, onion, and kimchi to pan and saute for about five minutes. Add gochujang here if you’d like a spicier and thicker stew.
3. Add water and bring to a boil. You may add more water if you’d like a soupier type of stew. Simmer for atleast 30 minutes (the longer the better).
4. 5 minutes before serving, add the tofu and scallions.
5. Serve with hot white rice on the side. Serves 6.

2 thoughts on “Adding more spice to life.

  1. Pingback: Pancakes, Asian-style. | Umami & Me

  2. Pingback: Jjigae, revisited. | Umami & Me

Leave a Reply

