Back in the kitchen!

OyakodonSo I’m finally back on the westcoast from just over a two week vacation in both Taiwan and Japan. And how was it? FUCKING AMAZING. Unreal, really. It honestly felt like I was in a different world. Some things were completely backwards compared to how it is here in North America but I enjoyed every single minute of it. Refreshing. I also enjoyed every bao, every deep-fried dish, every single morsel of rice, every drop of ramen broth, every slippery noodle, every piece of fresh seafood, every sugar-laden dessert and milk tea, and no, I did not really miss the vegetables (until the last three days of my trip). Overall, I had a very heavy meat and carb diet – no complaints there! The food was phenomenal.

But now I am back. Back to eating proportionately, vegetables, and most importantly, homecooked meals. I’ve missed it. I’m so excited to share some of my many favourite foods I had in Taipei and Tokyo and today I’ll be starting off with Japan’s oyakodon.

I love oyakodon. I had this dish twice while I was in Japan. I’ve actually loved this dish since I discovered it at Cornerstone at SFU Burnaby campus at Ichibankan (although not a great version of it) way back in second year university. “Oyako”, translating to “parents and children” in Japanese, refers t othe chicken (parents) and egg (children) in this savoury dish. The egg, chicken and onion mixture combined with the rice (“don”) soaked in an umami-laced sauce, just completely reminds of me of a good homecooked meal. Yum. Could totally be enjoyed for breakfast, lunch or for dinner. So comforting, so good. And not to mention, so easy to make.
Oyakodon Oyakodon Oyakodon Oyakodon
Oyakodon (adapted from Allrecipes)

What you’ll need:
– 2 cups jasmine rice, uncooked
– 3.5 cups water
– 2 cups dashi (or 1 tsp dashi powder, 2 cups boiling water)
– 1/4 cup soy sauce
– 3 tbsp brown sugar
– 3 tbsp mirin
– 6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs, diced into 1/2″ pieces (I used breast but thighs are moister/more flavourful)
– 1 onion, cut in half and sliced
– 6 free range eggs, well-beaten (4 if using non-FR, extra large)
– 1 stalk green onions, chopped (optional)
– 2 sheets nori, shredded thinly (optional)

What you’ll need to do:
1. Wash and cook rice with water in rice cooker.
2. Heat dashi, soy sauce, mirin, and brown sugar in a large saucepan on medium-high until boiling.
3. Lower heat to medium and add chicken and cook for 5 minutes or until no longer pink inside.
4. Add the onions and cook for another minute until soft.
5. Add the beaten egg to the saucepan and turn off the heat. The residual heat will cook the eggs.
6. Serve on top of rice with green onions and nori for garnish. Makes 6 servings.

Leave a Reply

