And so begins bok choy week.

Bok choy and avocado saladAs you know, I left for vacation a few weeks ago and just recently came home. Obviously, when I come home, the fridge would be completely empty. And me, being super organized in the kitchen, sent a grocery list to my boyfriend before I left. Being smart, he bought the ingredients that wouldn’t perish as quickly first and left the produce for when I got back so they would be nice and fresh. I asked him to buy some green leafy vegetables such as kale, spinach or bok choy thinking that he would go to T&T and get a small bag or something. To my surprise, he came home with a huge Costco-sized container of fresh baby boky choy. Great. Now what to do? Not one of my favourite vegetables to consume but I hate seeing ingredients go to waste. And so begins the week of bok choy. I promise I will try to make it as exciting as possible.

To start? Roasted baby bok choy and avocado salad with creamy miso dressing.

I seriously love roasting vegetables, especially the leafy kind (ie. kale, bok choy, broccolini). Roasting really brings out a smoky, charred flavour which I believe also brings out the natural sweetness and takes out the bitterness of the vegetable. So good. So, so good.

I was originally intending to just roast the bok choy and serve that as the main vegetable of the evening but I spotted this lone avocado just sitting on the kitchen table and I had to use it. It’s my favourite vegetable/fruit/whatever-you-want-to-call-it EVER. In LIFE. I had to use it. Into the salad it went.

And the dressing? Well, it’s really so simple and inspired by an appetizer I also had in Japan. I was at this phenomenal gyoza bar in Harajuku and the tips on Foursquare kept mentioning that “the cucumbers with miso dressing” were to die for. And they were. Just seemed like miso paste, water, and garlic. I had to recreate it somehow.

All in all, this salad is great. The bok choy is also amazing raw and is a great addition to any salad. Might be a tad bit bitter when eaten raw but the miso dressing is salty enough to mask the bitterness and take your mind off it. Enjoy!
Bok choy salad with avocado Bok choy and avocado salad Bok choy and avocado salad Bok choy and avocado salad Bok choy and avocado saladRoasted baby bok choy and avocado salad with creamy miso dressing

What you’ll need:
– 1lb fresh baby bok choy, washed and dried
– 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
– 1 tsp dried chili flakes
– 2 tbsp olive oil
– 1 avocado
– 1 tbsp white miso paste
– 2-3 tbsp warm water
– 1 stalk green onions, chopped

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat oven to 400F and line a baking sheet with parchment, aluminimum foil or Silpat mat. Set aside.
2. Place baby bok choy, spices, and olive oil in a large mixing bowl. Toss to coat. Assemble on baking sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes. Leaves should not be burnt.
3. Meanwhile, cut avocado in half and dice and set aside. Prepare the dressing by whisking the miso paste with warm water. Feel free to add more water to cut the saltiness. Dressing should not be too thin.
4. Take roasted bok choy out and cool for 5 minutes. Chop cooked bok choy and transfer to serving plates.
5. Top with avocado, green onions and dressing to taste. Makes 2 servings.

Leave a Reply

