Jjigae, revisited.

Chamchi kimchi udon jjigaeWhen I posted the recipe for kimchi jjigae for my very first post on this blog, I was thrilled to find out that there was also a chamchi, or tuna, version of the hearty stew as well. And boy, I could not wait to test it out.

And since I’ve been sick ever since I arrived back in Vancouver, there was only one thing that I needed to cure my cold: noodle soup of the Asian kind. Yup. I decided to take that recipe to a whole new level: udon noodle chamchi kimchi jjigae with baby bok choy

Am I crazy for adding noodles and bok choy to this already hearty stew? Maybe. I’m not too much for authenticity when it comes to home cooking. As long as it tastes good, I’m game. And I really needed this. I needed a spicy, tangy noodle soup and unfortunately, I don’t have the luxury of flying back to Taiwan for those spicy bowls of beef noodle or Japan, for those intensely rich bowlfuls of ramen. Plus, I am now broke. Sigh.

Anyways, this recipe is crazy comforting, addicting, and so simple to make. It would also even more amazing if you substituted Korean ramyun (instant ramen noodles) with the udon. However, If you want to eat this without noodles, it is essentially a one pot meal. I did this dish in a rush and to be honest, was done in about 15 minutes, prep included. And despite the tuna, it hardly tastes fishy at all. AND it’s healthy. No oil and low on sodium. Do yourself a favour and make this…NOW.
Chamchi kimchi udon noodle soup Chamchi kimchi udon noodle soup Chamchi kimchi udon noodle soup Chamchi kimchi udon noodle soup Chamchi kimchi udon noodle soup Chamchi kimchi udon noodle soup Chamchi kimchi udon noodle soupUdon noodle chamchi kimchi jjigae with baby bok choy

What you’ll need:
– 1 1/2 cups napa cabbage kimchi
– 1/2 cup kimchi juice
– 2 cans flaked tuna
– 4 cups baby bok choy, chopped
– 2 stalks green onion, chopped in 1″ pieces
– 2 tbsp gochujang (Korean hot pepper paste)
– 1 tbsp white miso paste
– 2 blocks of smooth tofu, diced
– Water
– 3 pkgs udon noodles

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a small pot, cook udon noodles according to packaged directions, drain, and set aside.
2. In a large pot on medium-high, saute kimchi (with juice) in pan for five minutes. Meanwhile, chop your vegetables and tofu, and open your tuna cans.
3. Add the tuna, baby bok choy and green onions to the pan.
4. Add water until everything in the pot is just covered.
5. Add the gochujang, miso paste, and tofu and bring to a bowl, and simmer for 30 minutes or longer (I did mine for 10min and it turned out just fine).
6. Serve on top of udon noodles or rice. Makes 8 servings.

Leave a Reply

