Something Filipino…finally!

Garlic riceIf you didn’t know, I’m of Filipino and Chinese descent, specifically 3/4 and 1/4. But it’s funny, because I think I know how to cook two Filipino dishes: chicken adobo and garlic rice. Sad, I know. And it’s not say that I am not a fan of Filipino food (I am), it’s just that the restaurants here in Vancouver are terrible, despite our huge population, and besides, I wouldn’t want to go to a Filipino restaurant anyways because my family makes the best anyways. So today, I will be sharing my knowledge of one of the only dishes I know how to cook: Siningag or garlic rice.

Garlic rice is a staple in the Philippines. I was there back in 2010 for the first time and I swear, I had this everyday for breakfast (was there for a month and I never got tired of it). It is traditionally served with longanisa, which is a sweet Filipino sausage, or tocino, which is usually pork that is marinated and pan-fried in this sticky sweet sauce. That, and a side of a runny, fried egg and pandesal with butter… yup, it’s pretty much to die for. No, literally. Amazing. It’s that comfort food type of amazing.

My mom also used to make this quite frequently. Although she is not the best cook, she definitely does the garlic rice right. Garlic rice is essentially the Filipino version of fried rice. It is simply leftover day old rice tossed with a number of minced garlic cloves over high heat and seasoned with salt. Yum.

Again, this is a post that I feel doesn’t really deserve an entry but hey, it’s pretty damn good and takes only a few minutes to make.
Garlic rice Garlic rice Garlic riceSiningag (garlic rice)

What you’ll need:
– 3 cups leftover rice (atleast 1 day old)
– 2 tsps ghee, or vegetable oil
– 9 cloves garlic, minced
– 2 tsps salt
– 1 tsp soy sauce (optional)
– 1 stalk green onion, thinly sliced (optional)

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a wok under high heat, heat ghee or vegetable oil until hot.
2. Add garlic and fry for 1 minute or until slightly browned on the edges.
3. Add rice, salt, and soy sauce. Toss. Add more salt and/or soy sauce to taste.
4. Garnish with green onions. Serves 3.

Leave a Reply

