On the hunt for the best chocolate chip cookies.

Whole wheat chocolate chip cookiesOh, and I forgot to mention…”healthy”? Right, like I’m going to find that.

Although I don’t make cookies as often as I used to (I used to be on a cookie diet when I was 10 – just ask my mom – I used to make cookie dough and just eat it out of the bowl, yup), I am always constantly on the hunt for the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe. I’ve looked at The New York Times recipe, Tollhouse, AllRecipes, Bloomingdale’s but they are always super packed with refined sugars, nuts, oatmeal, crap I don’t really care about. And since I more “conscious” about what I am putting into my body it’s become a bit challenging to find what fits my needs. But when it comes to cookies, I am even having trouble ditching the all purpose flour and refined sugars. It’s even makes me cringe a little that I used whole wheat flour in this recipe. Sigh, I think I really did my best though with my whole wheat chocolate chip and flax cookies.

But you see, I am very, very picky about my chocolate chip cookies. Because it is such a classic cookie, they need to be absolutely perfect. They must be chewy on the inside with a nice, subtle crunch on the outside. And I’m sorry, but that is only achieved by using a combination of white and brown sugars. White, or granulated sugars, give you that crispy exterior, that first initial crunch when you bite into a cookie. But because I can’t stand crunchy cookies (ew, storebought), I need to have brown sugar in it. Brown sugar is essentially just white sugar with molasses mixed into it . Using a combination gives you both – crispy outside and chewy inside. Just the way I like ’em.

Also, it is IMPERATIVE that you refrigerate your cookie dough batter. Why? Because the ingredients need time to “get to know eachother”. And honestly, the longer the better, supposedly. I’ve only ever lasted an hour but try making the batter 1-2 days ahead of time…and let me know how the results are. How do you know? Because the final end result will give you cookies that spread perfectly (which is not a lot) and will showcase these cute little cracks and dimples that look just like your favourite Chips Ahoy cookie. Trust me on this one.

Try my recipe out and give me some feedback. Gonna see if I can still get similar results when using natural sweeteners like agave, honey, and maple syrup. Hm… And honestly, these cookies were still too sweet for me. I’d suggest cutting the sugars down to atleast 3/4 cup total.
Whole wheat chocolate chip cookies Whole wheat chocolate chip cookies Whole wheat chocolate chip cookies Whole wheat chocolate chip cookies
Whole wheat chocolate chip and flax cookies

What you’ll need:
– 1/2 cup butter, softened
– 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
– 1/2 cup granulated sugar
– 1 free range egg
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 1 cup stone ground whole wheat flour
– 3/4 cup all purpose whole wheat flour
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1/2 tsp baking soda
– 1 tsp ground flax seeds
– 1 cup mini chocolate chips (I used Ghiradelli)
– Coarse salt (optional)

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat oven to 350F and place the rack in the centre.
2. Cream butter and sugars together.
3. Add egg and vanilla extract.
4. Add all of your dry ingredients except for the chocolate chips. Once everything is incorporated, fold in the chocolate chips. Set batter aside in the refrigerator for 1 hour or longer (48 is best!).
5. Bring the batter out and using an icecream scoop, scoop out 1 heaping tbsp of dough and form into a ball. Gently press down the cookie dough on a lined baking sheet. Repeat until all the batter is gone.
6. Bake for 10 minutes. Makes 20 cookies.

Leave a Reply

