The easiest chicken you`ll ever make.

Mushroom and onion baked chickenSeriously. No lie. That’s because I made this recipe when I first started cooking at the age of 13. And if you fuck this up, there may be no hope for you. Just kidding. Try making mushroom and onion baked chicken thighs with gravy tonight.

This is what I call lazy cooking aka casserole style cooking. Except I do not associate myself with casserole dishes because casseroles are for lazy people. There’s cooking and then there is just opening a can of condensed soup, mixing that with a premade soup mix, and slabbing it on some chicken and baking it with rice and/or pasta. One dish meal? Sure, but it’s just kind of lazy. It’s kind of like making a sandwich. It’s more just like assembling things together — not cooking.

This dish is almost crossing the line. And hey, the first time I cooked this dish was when I initially started experimenting with cooking. It was easy, convenient, and tasted good (probably because of all the sodium/MSG in it). I’ve definitely come a long way since then. But I just had to make this a bit better in my own way…

The original recipe for this called for a can of condensed mushroom soup and one packet of onion soup mix. Have you ever read the ingredients on both of these?! So bad for you. And since my boyfriend had a couple of these cans left in his pantry, I just had to use them up. So, if I couldn’t cut out the soup, atleast I could try to cut out all that sodium that is just through the roof on those god awful soup mixes. Yikes! And I did use some chicken bouillon which is just as bad but atleast I was able to control how much I put in. Sigh. There are some things you can do with and some you can’t do without. There’s something about this dish that just screams “all American cooking”. Oh well.

Overall, it is a cinch to make and a great option for a quick weeknight dinner. Enjoy!
Mushroom and onion baked chicken Mushroom and onion baked chicken Mushroom and onion baked chicken Mushroom and onion baked chickenMushroom and onion baked chicken thighs with gravy

What you’ll need:
– 6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs, kept whole and patted dry
– 1 onion, sliced
– 1 can of condensed cream of mushroom soup
– 1 1/2 tsp chicken bouillon powder
– 2 tsps dried parsley
– 1/2 tsp dried oregano
– 1/4 tsp dried basil
– 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat oven to 350F.
2. Place chicken thighs in an oven-proof baking dish and scatter the sliced onions over top.
3. In a small, separate bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients and mix well until everything is incorporated. Spoon this on top of the onion and chicken mixture.
4. Bake for 35 minutes (mine was still partially frozen!) or until the juices run clear when chicken is cut into.
5. Serve on top of pasta, rice, mashed potatoes or a bread roll. Makes 6 servings.

Leave a Reply

