Real housewife status: making a roast.

Garlic roast
Now, I am no expert at meat dishes, especially big hunkin’ pieces of meat (insert joke here). I’m actually intimidated by them. It’s a serious fear. Heck, I don’t even really like cooking meat in general. But one thing’s for certain — I sure as hell love eating it.

Today’s experiment? Garlic-studded oven roast.

When I recently found a 2kg piece of premium oven roast in my freezer, I was both delighted and scared. The largest pieces of meat I’ve ever cooked included a boneless piece of prime rib and roasting chickens. That’s it. This was going to be interesting…

The only thing I had in mind would be to keep it simple. I really wanted the flavour of the meat to come out instead of trying to overpower it with a crazy marinade or elaborate sauce. And besides, aren’t roasts supposed to be kind of…boring/bland? I don’t know. I’ve just never really been into it. But I decided to give it a try.

My mom used to cook roast all the time with potatoes, carrots, and celery and that was the way I decided to do it this time around as well. If you don’t have a roasting rack, you can always do what I did and make a “rack” out of carrots and celery and it will work just the same.

In regards to the “doneness” of the meat, I followed a guideline online but turns out my meat came out too cooked for my tastes. I would say just use it as a guideline and use your meat thermometer to ensure that it is safe to eat. I also might try using a fresh cut of meat instead of frozen next time since the last time I cooked a prime rib, it came out a bit overdone as well.

Learning experiences. Any tips to share with a meat noobie?
Garlic roast Garlic roast Garlic roast Garlic roast Garlic roast Garlic roast Garlic roast Garlic roast
Garlic-studded premium oven roast

What you’ll need:
– 1.75kg top sirloin premium oven roast
– 10 garlic cloves, smashed
– Spice rub or salt and pepper, as needed
– 4 carrots, peeled and chopped into 2″ chunks
– 4 stalks of celery, chopped into 2″ chunks
– 6 red potatoes, washed, scrubbed and chopped in half
– Olive oil

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat the oven to 275F.
2. Take the meat out of the fridge and let sit until it is at room temperature, about an hour.
3. In the meantime, prepare your veggies and place in a roasting pan or, if you have a roasting rack, place around the rack. Drizzle olive oil on top and salt and pepper if desired.
4. With a knife, stab the meat all around and stuff the whole garlic cloves in the incisions.
5. Generously rub the meat with your favourite spice rub or keep it simple with salt and pepper. Place on top of the roasting rack or veggies with the fat side up.
6. Depending on the size and weight of your meat, cook accordingly (I cooked mine for 2.5 hours). During the last 10 minutes, increase the heat to 450F in order to give the meat a nice shade and exterior.
7. Take your meat out and check for desired doneness according to a meat thermometer. Cover loosely with aluminum foil and let sit for 30 minutes.
8. Carve and slice. Makes 10-12 servings.

2 thoughts on “Real housewife status: making a roast.

  1. This recipe looks great! When I tried making roast before, I would always have the problem of it being too cooked for my taste as well. I’ve looked through a few recipe books and most of them said to slow roast it at 325 degrees F and don’t mention increasing the temperature at the end. And like you said, use the meat thermometer to determine how well you want it done. Since I’ve tried this, the roast has come out exactly the way I want it every time and even stays tender after it’s been refrigerated so the leftovers are never too hard/dry.
    I keep it simple as well by roasting it with some veggies and just season the roast with some salt, pepper, and parsley, and one recipe I came across suggested fennel.

Leave a Reply

