Soup ‘n dumplings.

Veggie and dumpling soup
When I first traveled to Wisconsin back in 2000, I remember going to a few restaurants with my mom and ordering this “country chicken and dumpling soup” or something along those lines. It was just as the name suggests — chicken, some carrots, onions, potatoes, celery, and, of course, dumplings, in a sea of yellow chicken broth. And of course, it was so good. It’s the type of comfort food that the United States is known for. Simple, wholesome, and reminiscent of home cooking.

Hello, vegetable and parsley dumpling soup.

So, whenever I’m stuck with a mirepoix (anyone remember what that term means? Onions, celery, carrots – ding ding ding!), I always think soup. And that was the first thing that came to mind. With my own homemade soup stock and dumplings on the brain, I knew that this soup would be simple, quick…and protein-less. Oh well. The dumplings look like it should have some sort of meat or egg binding but…no, they don’t. Again, oh well. I don’t think things all the way through sometimes (this is rare when it comes to meal planning) — I just cook away.

As for the dumplings, they are very, very simple to make. It’s been ages since I’ve made dumplings and I knew roughly what ingredients were involved and I was very aware that this recipe was simple as fuck to make (again, I was around 13 or 14 when I last made a dumpling soup). And thankfully, I found the recipe (or atleast one that was remotely close to my memory) at Allrecipes. Thaaaaank you.

This vegetable and dumpling soup was created pretty much to use up the leftover produce I had in my fridge. Feel free to add chicken and cream to thicken it up as it is rather thin and again, protein-less. Enjoy with a crusty piece of bread and you’re set! Enjoy.
Veggie and dumpling soup Veggie and dumpling soup Veggie and dumpling soupVegetable and parsley dumpling soup (dumpling recipe adapted from AllRecipes.com)

What you’ll need:
Soup
– Ghee, or vegetable oil
– 1 small onion, diced
– 4 stalks celery, diced
– 3 medium carrots, diced
– 6 new potatoes, diced
– 6 cups homemade stock, or chicken or vegetable broth
– Salt and pepper, to taste
Dumplings
– 1 cup all purpose flour
– 2 tsps baking powder
– 1 tsp granulated sugar
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1 tbsp butter
– 1/2 cup milk
– 1 tbsp dried parsley

What you’ll need to do:
1. In your mixer (or by hand), bring all of your dry ingredients together.
2. Cut in butter until the mixture is crumbly and add in the milk to form a dough. Set aside.
3. In a medium pot, take a nub of ghee and melt in pan over medium-high heat.
4. Add the onions and celery and sautee until softened and transparent, 1-2 minutes.
5. Add your carrots and potatoes and sautee for a minute longer and add the stock.
6. Bring to a boil and add your dumplings by the spoonful. The dumplings are done once they float to the top. I think mine made about 15 small dumplings.
7. Simmer broth until a fork can pierce through the carrots and potatoes. If you wish, feel free to add some chopped cooked chicken at this point and whisk in a 1/2 cup of cream with 1 1/2 tbsp of cornstarch to thicken.
8. Serve with crusty bread. Makes 4-6 servings.

Leave a Reply

