Omurice?

Curry omuriceOmurice? What’s that?

Omelette-rice, my friends. Another pure genius invention by the Japanese. Or was it Korean? The true origin is unknown to me. But what I do know, is that omurice is just fucking bomb. But to up it even further? Japanese curry omurice. Yes. I just went there.

I actually got a tip from one of my readers (thanks Brian!) to make this shortly after I posted my Japanese curry rice post. To be honest, I vaguely knew what it was. The only omurice I’ve ever encountered was actually an individual on Twitter with that username. Sad, I know.

So I did some quick researching. Omurice is basically rice that has been fried with ketchup and sometimes other ingredients such as chicken and mushrooms encased in an omelette, hence the name omurice. Genius, right? And after making a huge pot-full of curry rice, I knew I had to make this ASAP. Curry rice? Check. Free range eggs? Check. Ketchup? Check. Sriracha (of course I had to add this)? Check.

Let’s get the ball rollin’, shall we?
Curry omurice Curry omurice Curry omurice Curry omuriceJapanese curry omurice

What you’ll need:
– 1 cup white rice, cooked
– 2/3 cup Japanese curry
– 2 tsps ghee, or vegetable oil
– 3 free-rang eggs, beaten
– Ketchup, to taste

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a small bowl, combine rice and curry. Warm in the microwave until hot and set aside.
2. In a non-stick saucepan over medium-high heat, put a nub of ghee or vegetable oil to the pan until melted and hot.
3. Slowly pour your beaten egg in the center of the pan and swirl the pan around to ensure that whole pan is covered evenly in liquid egg. Turn the heat down to low.
4. Once the egg starts cooking and becomes firmer, about 30-45 seconds into cooking, add the curry rice to the top half of the egg. Let cook for another 30 seconds until all the edges are fully cooked.
5. Fold over the egg into an omelette and cook for another 30 seconds before flipping over.
6. Slide omurice onto a pan and drizzle with ketchup. Makes 1 omurice.

3 thoughts on “Omurice?

  1. Pingback: Ketchup spaghetti!!! | Umami & Me

Leave a Reply

