Cooking the impossible.

Baked lemon caper salmonWhat I mean when I say “cooking the impossible” is cooking things that I can’t eat or try. I’m allergic to a ton of things. When I was little, I was allergic to nuts of any kind, all seafood, and deli meats, or anything that contained MSG. Luckily, some of my allergies have alleviated themselves. I can now eat hazelnuts, almonds, tuna, black cod, shrimp, scallops, oysters, clams, cashews. However, some allergies remain — one of them being salmon.

There were two whole salmons in my freezer and I wasn’t going to eat them. Luckily, my boyfriend is not allergic to salmon, or to anything for that matter (lucky bastard). And since I was going out of town for the weekend, I couldn’t think of a better opportunity to cook this lemon, caper and white wine salmon dish.

But would it be successful? That was the question.

The problem with loving to cook and having allergies is the amount of limitations you come across. You can’t ingest it at all. How was I going to cook this whole salmon without tasting it, knowing when it was cooked, or better yet, how to even cook it?!?! How was I going to pull this one off without fucking up? You don’t know until you try…

And honestly, even though this dish looked aesthetically pleasing and the aromatics were out of this world (and not fishy!), it fell a bit flat on its face. It was bland! All the delicate flavours of lemon, capers, dill and white wine were not enough. It needed a stronger flavour. I suggest using fresh dill and garlic next time. Or perhaps I should just stick to my standard maple-soy recipe for salmon…

Sigh, fail again.
Baked lemon caper salmon Baked lemon caper salmon Baked lemon salmonLemon, caper, and white wine salmon
– 1 whole wild sockeye salmon, filleted
– 1 1/2 lemons, 1 sliced and the juice of 1/2 lemon
– 1/4 cup capers, drained
– 1/4 cup dry white wine
– Salt and pepper, to taste
– 4 tsps dried dill weed
– Olive oil, as needed

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat oven to 350F.
2. Pat dry your salmon. Place skin-side down in a 9×13 baking dish.
3. Season salmon with salt, pepper, and dill weed.
4. Place lemon slices and capers on top of salmon.
5. Pour lemon juice and wine on top of salmon and drizzle a little olive oil on top to finish.
6. Bake for 35 minutes or until fish is cooked through (depends on how thick your salmon is cut; mine took 35 minutes). Loosely cover with aluminum foil for 10 minutes after removing from the oven.
7. Serve with rice or atop of a cream pasta. Makes 8 servings.

Leave a Reply

