Baking with ghee.

Ghee sandwich cookiesSo I know that deep-frying with ghee turned out to be a little bit of a failure but since I have so much of this golden goodness in my house, I thought “Hey, let’s start baking with it!”. And I am glad to report back that there has been success in the baking side of things with ghee.

Today I made ghee sandwich cookies.

A little bit of a mouthful? Maybe. Delicious? Yes.

Now, I have actually baked with ghee before in banana breads and loaves with wonderful results. I basically used it as a fat replacement or substitute for butter or oil.

But first thing’s first — some science behind ghee. Ghee is butter than has been clarified. To make ghee, unsalted butter is cooked down until the water evaporates and milk solids are left behind and eliminated. What’s left is liquid gold. Ghee has a very high smoke point (can withstand high heat) in comparison to butter and has a much longer shelf life. Plus, a nutty, buttery flavour that just can’t be beat.

So my experiment? Making ghee cookies. And the results? Not bad! A slight, subtle flavour with a Chinese almond cookie-like texture.

Another thing to note is the baking time. Yes, I know that most cookie recipes will take 8-10 minutes to bake but because all of the moisture has been drawn out of the butter when ghee is made, the baking time will need to be adjusted as well. If you take it out any sooner, it will seem as if it is underdone — very delicate in handling and will most likely crumble.

A success in my books though. Give ghee a try! If not in baking, then most definitely in cooking.
Ghee sandwich cookies Ghee sandwich cookies Ghee sandwich cookies Ghee sandwich cookies Ghee sandwich cookies
Ghee sandwich cookies (adapted from From my Inbox)

What you’ll need:
– 1 cup all purpose flour
– 1/2 cup icing sugar
– 1/2 cup melted ghee
Burnt miso butterscotch (as needed)

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat the oven to 350F with the rack positioned in the middle.
2. Combine the flour, icing sugar, and melted ghee in your mixer. Mix until combined.
3. By the tablespoonful, take bits of the dough and form into small balls.
4. Drop the balls onto a lined cookie sheet and flatten them slightly. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Let cool.
5. Once cooled down, spoon some of the burnt miso butterscotch (I used a heaping teaspoonful) on the bottom side of a cookie and take another to sandwich them together. Makes 7 cookie sandwiches.

2 thoughts on “Baking with ghee.

  1. Nice innovation! I have made ghee before and I have often wondered about alternate uses beyond the bottom of the curry pan. Thanks, Steph.

    • Why thank you, Chuck! I sometimes go to this small grocery store that is largely Indian-based and was curious about ghee due to reading about it before and tried it out. It’s also a great alternative to any vegetable oil (I use mainly use ghee vs. veg oil) when it comes to sauteeing or frying things. Try it out!

Leave a Reply

