My standard curry recipe.

Chicken and chick pea curryNow, I love Indian food, I really do…but I just don’t cook enough of it!!! And that’s probably because I only have one standby recipe that I usually resort to…and today I’ll be sharing it with you! I don’t really have a name for this but how about Steph’s chicken and chick pea curry?

I am so original.

For me, the most important component in a curry would be the spices. I tend to use a mixture of cumin, garam masala, and turmeric. Cumin, for me, would be the dominant flavour in curry (or atleast in this specific recipe of curry). Garam masala is basically a spice mix that can vary from region to region (Indian, Indonesian, Himalayan, are just an example of the ones I have at home). It’s great because it kind of saves you from having to go out and get all of those spices that you will maybe use in just a few recipes (but if you do have the time to get them all, more power to ya). Turmeric is also important, in my opinion, because it really adds a nice colour and balance to my curry. Turmeric has many anti-inflammatory benefits as well. If I’m not using fresh cilantro, then I would definitely throw some coriander in this mix as well (same seed/plant varietal).

It is so important to toast the aforementioned spices during the beginning of your cooking curry-making process because it really brings out and helps develop the flavour.

For this specific recipe, it is coconut milk-based. This is not the same as say, a Thai curry. Mine is thick, rich, and oh-so-flavourful. I always add chick peas to up the protein and occasionally add some fresh or frozen spinach. Feel free to add some fresh tomatoes, potatoes, lentils, peas, or whatever you please. This can even be made fully vegetarian or vegan if desired. It’s a very forgiving dish that will leave you with leftovers that get better the longer they’re in the fridge.
Chicken and chick pea curry Chicken and chick pea curry Chicken and chick pea curry Chicken and chick pea curry Chicken and chick pea currySteph’s chicken and chick pea curry

What you’ll need:
– 2 tsps ghee or vegetable oil
– 1 whole onion, diced
– 1 tbsp ground cumin (2 tbsp if using whole)
– 2 heaping tsps garam masala
– 2 heaping tsps turmeric
– 1 tsp cayenne pepper
– 8 chicken thighs, diced
– 2 tsps ginger-garlic paste (or 1 tsp each freshly grated ginger/garlic grated)
– 1 can coconut milk, unsweetened
– 1 can tomato paste
– 1 can chick peas, drained
– 1 cup fresh cilantro, roughly chopped and packed, stems included

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a large pot, melt ghee/oil over medium-high heat.
2. Add onions and spices and saute for 1 minute. Drop heat to low. Get the rest of your ingredients ready (chop chicken, open cans, chop cilantro) while the onions caramelize, takes about 20 minutes or so.
3. Raise the heat up again to medium-high and add the chicken and ginger-garlic paste. Brown meat.
4. Add the coconut milk to deglaze the pan.
5. Add tomato paste. Curry should be thicker consistency after adding the paste.
6. Add your chick peas and cilantro. You can either turn off the heat at this point or drop the heat to low and simmer for 20 minutes.
7. Serve with saffron rice. Makes 8-10 servings.

6 thoughts on “My standard curry recipe.

  1. Hi,
    Nice website and nice recipes! Thank you very much. I have bookmarked your site and plan to return.
    Regards,
    Chuck

Leave a Reply

