Simple food: egg drop soup.

Miso egg drop soupBeing a quarter Chinese, I actually grew up eating a lot of Chinese food. A lot of the wrong Chinese food. I’m talking about sweet ‘n sour pork, beef and broccoli, house special chow mein, wonton soup, spring rolls… You know what I’m talking about. Chinese food that can be found in a buffet or has largely been Americanized. Now, there is NOTHING wrong with this at all (for those who don’t know, I’m actually a HUGE fan of PF Chang’s in the states) but let’s just say my taste buds have evolved substantially since my childhood.

Anothe dish I always see in Americanized Chinese restaurants would be egg drop soup. Didn’t have it much while growing up but since the weather has been up and down lately (and sideways – I’m talking about you, Vancouver rain), it was time for some simple food. Soup. And since I was stuck with 5 random egg whites just sitting in my fridge thanks to the homemade ravioli I made last time, it was time to use it up. I knew I didn’t want to make a dessert…so, miso egg drop soup it was.

Egg drop soup is a very simple soup to make. It’s basically egg whites, broth, your flavouring agent(s), and cornstarch. Now, since I haven’t had much egg drop soup in my lifetime, I resorted to one of my favourite websites, Serious Eats, for advice. And boy, there were so many different variations of the soup! There was tomato, miso, a lemongrass version… Seriously, the options are pretty endless.

My version is pretty basic. I kept it simple since there was a little bout of flu running around here. For me? Ginger, scallions, and miso acted as my base. But again, feel free to make it your own and switch it up to your liking.
Miso egg drop soup Miso egg drop soup Miso egg drop soup Miso egg drop soup Miso egg drop soupMiso egg drop soup

What you’ll need:
– 6 cups homemade stock, or chicken/vegetable/fish broth
– 1″ knob of ginger, sliced
– 4 stalks scallions, white part separated, green part sliced
– 1 heaping tbsp shiro miso
– 5 egg whites
– 1 tbsp cornstarch

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a medium-sized pot, heat your broth, ginger, and white scallions stalks and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer. Whisk in your miso paste and let simmer for 20 minutes. Once this is done, remove the ginger and scallion stalks.
2. Turn up the heat to medium. Place your cornstarch in a small bowl. Ladle some soup into the bowl and whisk until no clumps remain. Dribble this into the broth.
3. Lastly, we will add the eggs. In a clockwise motion, swirl the broth. Lower the bowl of egg whites to the edge of the pot. With a fork, strain the eggs into the pot and let sit for 10 seconds. Swirl with a fork to break up the eggs into desired size.
4. Serve with the chopped green onions on top. Makes 4-6 servings.

Leave a Reply

