Noodle salad…literally.

Kale and brussel sprout soba noodle saladI love soba noodles. They’re probably one of my favourite Asian noodles. Perfectly chewy, nutty, and goes great with just about anything. So naturally, I was thrilled when I spotted my eye on Sprouted Kitchen’s kale and brussel sprout soba noodle salad.

And salad with noodles, this was.

For those of you who are unaware, I have been been really invested in cooking more with whole food, plant-based, vegan and raw diets within the past year. To be honest, I think my interested peaked with these specific diets due to my interest in the science behind the food, health benefits, and the ability to create something tasty without having much meat. I began reading a number of food blogs for the recipes and Sprouted Kitchen was one of them. Marvelous photography, innovative recipes, and beautiful writing — pretty much what I look for in a good food blog. And Sprouted Kitchen was just that. If you are unfamiliar with that blog, you must go and check it out (after reading this post, of course)!

Anyways. The noodles. The salad. This was more of a salad with noodles which is GREAT for me since I love loading up more on carbs rather than veggies, if anything. I altered slightly to fit my needs but it still tasted great. Not going to lie, I ate half of the bowl straight away. Bad….but so good! Still, this recipe is very good for you. Lots of greens — you won’t be missing the meat. You’ll see what I mean when you make this as well.
Kale and brussel sprout soba noodle salad Kale and brussel sprout soba noodle salad Kale and brussel sprout soba noodle saladKale and brussel sprout soba noodle salad (adapted from Sprouted Kitchen)

What you’ll need:
– 2 bundles buckwheat soba noodles
– 5 small bunches kale, stalk removed, leaves coarsely torn into bite-sized pieces
– Olive oil
– 6 brussel sprouts, stem removed and leaves sliced thinly
– 2 tsps black garlic oil
– 2 tbsp soy sauce
– 1 tsp Sriracha
– Pepper, to taste
– Dried chili flakes, to taste
– 3 stalks green onions, sliced

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a medium mixing bowl, massage the kale with olive oil. This is to cut down the bitterness of raw kale and to make it easier to swallow. Set aside.
2. Cook soba noodles according to packaged directions. During the last 30 seconds of the noodles being cooked in bowling water, add the sliced brussel sprout leaves. Blanch. Drain noodles and brussel sprouts together and run under cold water to stop the cooking.
3. Add the noodles and brussel sprouts to the kale. Add the rest of the ingredients to the bowl and mix thoroughly.
4. Serve as is or chilled with a sprinkle of fresh green onions on top. Makes 2-4 servings.

2 thoughts on “Noodle salad…literally.

  1. I’ll be making this tonight! I’ve been drooling over your food on FB and Instagram – how did I never notice that you blogged! ugh!

Leave a Reply

