My take on the French apple tart.

French apple tart
So…I’m not one for making apple pies. I don’t know. It just seems like a lot of work. Intimidation? Maybe. Laziness? Definitely. And PIE CRUST. You are all familiar with my pie crust fiasco from last time…

Well, this time, I used a different method. This recipe is kind of inbetween an apple tart and apple pie. I used pie crust on the bottom instead of a buttery shortcrust and thinly mandolined apples for the filling and left it open-faced. But let’s be honest… The only real reason I made this whole wheat apple pie tart was because I just couldn’t wait to use my new Le Creuset black lacquered tart pan that I picked up from the outlets during my last visit to Seattle. It’s a beauty.

Hey, there’s a celebration for everything, right?

So besides me wanting to use my brand new Le Creuset tart pan, I also wanted to get reacquainted with my mandoline. Now, if you do not have a mandoline, I highly suggest you acquire one now! Yes, they are slightly dangerous but if you julienne your vegetables a lot or need to get uniform slices of whatever produce you are slicing/cutting/julienning, this tool is definitely made for you.

I spent a lot of time researching different types of mandolines and asked the chefs where I work in regards to which brands they used. Everyone and the internet swore on the Japanese’s Benriner mandoline. Super light, compact, and cheap – perfect. And I have to admit that the hand guard is not always that helpful and I have used it without it before. But please, please be careful if using one! Read up on the reviews (not just the Benriner brand but any mandoline) — many people have sliced a finger off. Not pretty.

Anyways. This pie. Tart. Apple thing. Very easy and very simple to make. It’s basically a low fat, low in sugar type of dessert. I dressed the apples with a simple syrup and a touch of cinnamon just after baking and before serving. You can definitely cook the apples (if you cut them into chunks) in sugar and cinnamon.

There are a few things that I would change with this recipe if I were to make it again:
– make the pie crust a touch sweeter
– make a custard to fill it with
– OR cut the apples up normally like in a traditional apple pie

Either or, it was different and good. And am I in luck or what? Another huge shipment of apples at my house! This may or not be a good thing…

French apple tart French apple tart French apple tart French apple tart French apple tart French apple tart French apple tart
Whole wheat apple pie tart

What you’ll need:
Crust
– 1 1/2 cups whole wheat all purpose flour
– 2 tbsps white sugar
– 1 tsp salt
– 1/2 cup vegetable oil
– 2 tbsp milk
Pie filling
– 7 small apples, cored and peeled (cores and skins reserved)
– Demerara sugar (optional)
Glaze
– 1/4 cup granulated sugar
– 1/4 cup water
– Leftover apple cores and skins
– 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon or 1 cinnamon stick

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat oven to 400F with the rack positioned in the centre.
2. Prepare your pie crust. Combine all the ingredients in a stand mixer or large mixing bowl and mix with the paddle attachment until everything is well incorporated.
3. Press into a 10″ tart pan and poke holes with a fork all over. Bake for 15 minutes. Remove from the oven and let cool. Bring the heat down to 350F.
4. While the pie crust is baking, prepare your glaze. In a medium saucepan, combine all the ingredients over medium heat. The mixture should reduce and slightly thicken after 10-15 minutes. Remove solids and reserve the syrup.
5. With your mandoline, slice the apples directly on top of the cooled pie crust. Once you have a nice, even layer, brush with the syrup. Continue to mandoline the apples and brush with syrup until all the apples are used up. Sprinkle with demerara sugar.
6. Once the whole pie shells is filled, bake in the preheated oven for 20-25 minutes.
7. Serve a la mode with ice cream or if you’re feeling healthy, with Greek yogurt. Makes 1 pie.

Leave a Reply

