Salad.

Baby spinach, date, and almond saladPlease click on me and read through.

I know the word “salad” is pretty damn boring and hey, I’ll admit it! But this baby spinach, date, and almond salad is UNREAL. It’s Michelin-star approved from a 2 Michelin-star rated chef — one of my favourite chefs, in fact: Yotam Ottolenghi.

If you can recall in some of my previous posts, I raved about Ottolenghi’s first book, Plenty. But I have recently acquired his second cookbook, Jerusalem, and it is wonderful, maybe even moreso than the first (because this one has meat!!!!!!!). It’s been on my mind for a little while ever since its release last October. I picked it up on a whim fearing that my dinner date would cancel on me (he did, but I found another one) on my new favourite restaurant, Pidgin. I thought the book would keep me company. It did. I read the interlude and sifted through the book quickly before my second date appeared. I couldn’t wait to get home to read the rest of it.

And that is exactly what I did the following morning. As like Plenty, it was dreamy. Beautiful, carefully thought out recipes that you can almost taste in your mouth.

This salad, in particular, was easy and delicious. I had to adapt it slightly due to what I had on-hand but even with my adaptations, it still turned out fantastic.

I hope you guys give this a try and don’t knock it down!
Baby spinach, date and almond salad Baby spinach, date and almond salad Baby spinach, date and almond salad Baby spinach, date, and almond saladBaby spinach, date, and almond salad (adapted from Yotam Ottolenghi’s Jerusalem)

What you’ll need:
Salad
– 1 lb fresh baby spinach
– 8 dates, pitted and diced
– 1/2 cup whole almonds
– 1/4 cup feta cheese, crumbled
– 1/2 yellow onion, sliced thinly, rings separated
Dressing
– 3 tbsp olive oil
– 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
– 2 tsps sumac
– 1/2 tsp dried chili flakes
– Salt and pepper, to taste

What you’ll need to do:
1. Place the spinach, almonds, dates, onions and feta cheese in a bowl.
2. Whisk the dressing together and mix with the salad until equally incorporated.
3. Great with some chick peas and couscous on the side to make a complete meal. Makes 4-6 servings.

Leave a Reply

