Je suis une pizza.

Stinging nettle pesto, kale, feta and free range egg pizza
Anyone remember that song from elementary school!? We used to sing that song in French class, alternating in both French and English back when I was a little kid. Oh, how that seems so long ago…

Well, the reason that song popped up in my head was because I was in the mood to make pizza today! And these pizzas were not only delicious but also very simple to make. I’ll teach you how to make easy rustic pizzas from scratch in a couple of flavours – stinging nettle pesto, kale, garlic, feta, and free range egg as well as tomato sauce, caramelized onion, goat’s cheese, and Italian flat leaf parsley. Fun little pizza pies to kick off spring with!

Quite funny. I’m not a huge pizza fan. I will rarely eat pizza unless it’s free or if I’m desperate (aka when I’m hungover or too cheap to buy anything else). So it was a bit odd that I chose to make pizza today. If it wasn’t for the random bag of pizza pie shells in my freezer and pizza squeeze sauce that I hesitated to keep when cleaning out my boyfriend’s fridge, I would have never made this. Ha! And you thought I made the dough from scratch… Who do you think I am? Martha Stewart? Slowly but surely…

But I’m honestly glad I made it. It was so simple, easy and quick! Dare I say that I am actually looking forward to making these again? Yes.

Besides that, actually writing this post was really weird to me because there is actually no recipe down at the bottom. You see, I tried writing it but it’s honestly up to you what you want to put on it. It’s merely just assembling ingredients together on a pizza crust and baking it. It’s so damn easy.

Easy rustic pizza Easy rustic pizza Easy rustic pizza Easy rustic pizza Easy rustic pizza Easy rustic pizza

Easy rustic pizza

What you’ll need:
– 6 pizza pie shells
– 1/4 cup olive oil, for brushing
Kale pizza
Stinging nettle pesto
– Sauteed kale and garlic
– Feta cheese
– Free range eggs
– Freshly ground black pepper
Caramelized onion pizza
– Pizza sauce
– Caramelized onion
– Goat’s cheese
– Italian flat leaf parsley

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat the oven to 425F.
2. Place the pizza pie shells on a lined baking sheet, preferably Silpat. Brush each pizza pie shell with olive oil.
3. Now, it’s up to you which pizza you’d like to make. The ingredients are listed in the order that I layered them in. Kale pizza? Spread the pesto, then put the kale and garlic on top, sprinkle feta cheese, crack a free range egg in the centre and black pepper on top to finish. Caramelized onion pizza? Spread pizza sauce on the bottom, then place the caramelized onion, then goat’s cheese. Save the flat leaf parsley for after baking – you don’t want to risk burning the herb.
4. Bake the pizza pies for 15 minutes until nicely browned on the edges.
5. Let cool for 5-10 minutes before slicing. Makes 6 pizza pies.

Leave a Reply

