The daddy of all comfort food.

Shepherd's pieMac ‘n cheese is probably my all-time favourite comfort food — I’d like to name it the mother of all comfort food. But coming in at a close second would probably be shepherd’s pie, the daddy of all comfort foods.

Meat + potatoes = shepherd’s pie. But my version is not just plain meat and potatoes. It’s a ground beef and vegetable mixture de-glazed with red wine and finished with a dreamy and creamy mashed potato topping. Doesn’t that sound like heaven to you?

Besides shepherd’s pie being one of my all-time favourite comfort foods, it is also super easy. Actually, I find that most comfort foods are pretty damn easy. They take little or no time to make…which is great because that means that I can sink my teeth into it in no time.

For this recipe, it actually turned out pretty oily. This is due to the type of meat I used (80% lean, 20% fat) and also I think I added too much vegetable oil. So don’t be alarmed at the amount of grease at the bottom! You are more than welcome to use extra lean ground beef. I have also adjusted the amount of oil in my recipe below. Also, I was out of Worcestshire sauce (WTF!!!) which is usually a key ingredient in my usual shepherd’s pie recipes…but I’ve got to say that this red wine version is 10x better. Thanks Trader Joe’s for your $3.49 wine! Best purchase ever.

Indulge away!
Shepherd's pie Shepherd's pie Shepherd's pie Shepherd's pie Shepherd's pie Shepherd's pie Shepherd's pie Shepherd's pieShepherd’s pie

What you’ll need:
– 3 tsps vegetable oil
– 1/2 yellow onion, diced
– 3 garlic cloves, minced
– 1.5 lbs ground beef (80% lean, 20% fat)
– 1 tsp thyme
– 1/2 tsp ground pepper
– 1/2 tsp kosher salt
– 3 medium carrots, diced
– 1/2 cup red wine
– 1/2 cup frozen green peas
– 1 can corn kernels
– 1/3 cup ketchup
– 4 cups leftover mashed potatoes

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a medium saucepan, heat vegetable oil until hot.
2. Add the onions and saute for 2 minutes.
3. Add the garlic, carrots and ground beef. Saute for 5 minutes or until browned. Season with salt, pepper, and thyme.
4. De-glaze the pan with red wine.
5. Add your peas and corn kernels and mix in the ketchup. Turn off heat and pour mixture into an ovenproof casserole dish.
6. Heat up your leftover mashed potatoes in the microwave and preheat the oven to 400F.
7. Place the mashed potatoes on top of the ground beef mixture and bake for 20 minutes or until moisture starts bubbling up on the sides.
8. Serve with a side salad. Makes 4 servings.

Leave a Reply

