For all you eggplant haters out there…

Baba ghanoush…I will convert you. I’m serious. I will convert all you eggplant-hating-what-the-hell-is-wrong-with-you folk with my baba ghanoush recipe. Yup. I’m going there and I’m taking you with me.

Baba ghanoush. No, it is not a character from Disney’s Aladdin. It’s a deliciously creamy spread made from roasted eggplants, tahini, lemon and olive oil aka FREAKIN’ DELICIOUS. It is awesome with pita, crackers, pizza, by itself… It’s so dreamy. Honestly, it’s better than a fattening, creamy, mayonnaise-filled dip. You can hardly tell it’s eggplant unless I tell you (oh, now you know).

You’re fucking welcome.

But, on a serious note here, can I ask all you eggplant haters just one thing? What exactly do you hate about eggplant? It’s a nightshade vegetable that, although some sources may say it is bad, is actually so good for you. Eggplant possesses the ability to lower cholesterol due to the presence of chlorogenic acid as well as other antioxidant and cancer-fighting features.

I’m thinking it’s just a texture thing, right? That’s like me and okra. We’re almost friends.
Baba ghanoush Baba ghanoush Baba ghanoushBaba ghanoush

What you’ll need:
– 2/3 eggplant, skin on
– Salt and pepper, to taste
– 1/2 tsp sumac
– Olive oil
– 1 tbsp tahini
– 1/2 lemon, juice only
– 4 tbsp olive oil

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat oven to 400F and slice an eggplant into thirds. You will only need 2/3 of it for this recipe so feel free to roast the third piece as well or save for later.
2. Season with salt, pepper, and sumac and lightly drizzle with olive oil. Roast for 20 minutes and let cool.
3. Once the eggplant is all cooled down, cut into pieces and throw into a food processor with the rest of the ingredients. Blend until it is completely pureed.
4. Serve with pita. Makes 1 cup.

7 thoughts on “For all you eggplant haters out there…

  1. I’m going to try this. I need to eat more vegetables as I’m working on cutting down my meat consumption or out…haven’t been too determined as of yet. I’ve actually never tried eggplant, but this sounds pretty tasty. Thanks!

  2. It’s a texture thing and probably also that my family used to try to make me eat it ALL THE TIME because my dad treats it the way most people treat bacon, like CANDY. If you don’t tell me it’s eggplant and it doesn’t look like eggplant, I’ll eat it. Probably >_>

Leave a Reply

