Alcoholic nutella cookies.

Nutella and Bailey's no bake cookiesYes, please.

Bailey’s and nutella no-bake cookies. Need I say more?

I’ve never been a fan of no-bake cookies. Er, scratch that. I’ve never even attempted to make a no-bake cookie. I’m not sure why I’ve never done this before since it sounds like a great idea for a lazy person like me but I don’t know. I just feel like I am ABOVE making no-bake cookies. Like, “No-bake cookies? Lame!”. I don’t know. I have always had this weird, snobbish attitude towards them.

Until today.

My friend Charlie was having a foodie party so I needed to bring something delicious and nom-worthy. BUT if I’m giving stuff away for free to people I like to a) not use up valuable and expensive butter and free-range eggs and b) not spend extra money on it. Oh, AND I was PMSing. So, given all of these restrictions, I revisited the idea of a no-bake cookie.

Mental checklist:
“Nutella? Check. Sugar? Check. Cocoa powder? Check. Butter? Nah, but I’ll substitute it with ghee. Oats? Check. Milk? Fuck. No milk. But I have Bailey’s Irish Cream leftover from St. Paddy’s Day. Who the fuck doesn’t have milk but has half a bottle of Bailey’s leftover? Me. Um…Bailey’s should work…right?”

Yes. YES!!! The perfect remedy to my PMSy moodswings. I think it is a touch too sweet because of the added granulated sugar but since I’ve never made a no-bake cookie before, I was scared it was vital. Perhaps I’ll just omit it next time…if there is a next time. I prefer baked cookies but this was a good, quick fix. And yes, the alcohol is definitely present. You’re welcome.
Nutella and Bailey's no bake cookies Nutella and Bailey's no bake cookies Nutella and Bailey's no bake cookies Nutella and Bailey's no bake cookies Nutella and Bailey's no bake cookies

Nutella and Bailey’s no-bake cookies (adapted from What Katie’s Baking)

What you’ll need:
– 3 tbsp ghee
– 1/2 cup granulated sugar
– 1/4 cup original Bailey’s Irish Cream
– 1 tbsp cocoa powder
– 1 cup nutella
– 2 cups quick-cooking oats

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a medium-sized pot, melt the ghee over medium heat.
2. Add the granulated sugar, Bailey’s, and cocoa powder and stir until it is all combined.
3. Add the nutella and mix until everything is well incorporated. Fold in the oats.
4. Remove from heat and with a ice-cream scoop, work quickly and scoop out by the tbsp balls of dough and place onto a wax paper-lined cookie sheet or flat surface. Alternatively, you may also roll the dough in your hands (be careful because it will still be a bit hot!) or flatten on the cookie sheet.
5. Refrigerate for atleast 30 minutes. Makes 2 dozen (24) cookies.

2 thoughts on “Alcoholic nutella cookies.

Leave a Reply

