Lazy cooking.

Kimchi tuna yakiudonI have been so energy-less in the past week and I really think it is due to my meat consumption. Seriously. I had a HUGE meat feast at the Fairmont Pacific Rim’s Oru when I had their chef’s tasting menu last week PLUS I made ramen from scratch and had leftover cha shu for almost a whole week. Meat overload.

Ever since I’ve been tracking my diet, I’ve noticed that in weeks where I consume more meat products, the more tired I am, the more lazy I am, and fatter I feel. Don’t get me wrong — I LOVE meat. In fact, I can’t live without it. But I don’t know what it is… It’s a mystery to me.

After I finished all those wonderful leftovers, I was able to cook something meat-free again. And since my kitchen is full of random leftover produce and ingredients, I wanted something quick, Asian, and filling. My favourite go to? Yakiudon. I was out of out of my usual ingredients so…a kimchi tuna yakiudon was born.

Since my huge meal at Oru, I’ve had a 5 day break from eating healthy, working out, and productivity. Seriously. Haven’t been this lazy in a very long time. So what did I do with my time? Catch up on all my TV shows – Spartacus, Glee, and the Real Housewives of Vancouver and Beverly Hills – a weird combination, I’m well aware.

This whole laziness business even got to how I cook. I was so lazy and obsessed with watching the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills Reunion that I made this dish in like 5 minutes, not even joking.

I basically took my leftover kimchi (left it unchopped with the juices), a can of tuna (didn’t even drain the juices), a splash of soy sauce, and two packages of udon noodles. Garnish? Shredded nori, sliced green onion, and Japanese mayo. Done.

Warning: this recipe is VERY kimchi-y. It’s sour. So if you don’t like kimchi, reduce it. I happen to love kimchi so it honestly wasn’t a problem for me. Deeeeelicious.
Kimchi tuna yakiudon Kimchi tuna yakiudon Kimchi tuna yakiudon Kimchi tuna yakiudonKimchi tuna yakiudon

What you’ll need:
– 2 cups kimchi, left whole with juices
– 1 can flaked skipjack tuna, with juices
– 1 tbsp soy sauce
– 2 pkgs udon noodles
– 1 stalk green onion, sliced
– 1/4 sheet nori, shredded
– Japanese mayonnaise

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a medium-sized wok, stir fry the kimchi with its juices over high heat for 3 minutes while you prepare the rest of the ingredients.
2. After the 3 minutes, add the tuna and its juices. The kimchi’s and tuna’s juices should form a large pool of liquid at the bottom of the wok. Push all the solids to the sides and add the udon to the mini pool of liquid in the center.
3. After a minute, flip the udon on the other side. The noodles should begin to unravel.
4. Keep cooking and stirfrying until all of the noodles are unraveled and the liquid has been soaked up by the udon.
5. Pour into bowls and top with a drizzle of Japanese mayo, green onion, and nori. Makes 2-4 servings.

Leave a Reply

