Cookies fit for a king (or queen).

Imperial cookiesImperial cookies or the empire biscuit. Yep. I made that.

The imperial cookie is actually two sugar cookies sandwiched together filled with a sweet jam and topped with royal icing and a glace cherry. It originated in Germany and although it was intially named the “Linzer or Deutsch biscuit”, it was renamed due to World War I. Thanks for the history lesson, Wikipedia. I’m still not exactly sure what makes this cookie so royal. Oh well.

So when I did a huge batch of cookies for St. Patrick’s Day last month, I was left with a huge ball of sugar cookie dough. What to do? There was no way in hell I could eat that many cookies so I wrapped that baby up in saran wrap and into the freezer it went. I promised Bonchaz (the bakery I sell my cupcakes and other delicious goodies at) that I would make them some cookies sometime in the future so I decided to take some dough home and do a little test batch.

I knew already that I was going to make imperial cookies since our old roommate left jar of mixed berry in the fridge for us (thanks?) so it was set. I’m going to be honest and say that I DID indeed overbake them. Not completely burnt (with the exception of the smaller ones, oops) but definitely overbaked by 2 minutes. Those who bake would know that any minute that you leave your cookies in the oven is especially crucial since cookies take such little time to bake. So what was so distracting that I lost track of time? My friend posted her excitement over Songza’s MTV Total Request Live playlist that featured an old girl band called Dream that I used to love when I was in highschool which totally reminded me of the show “Becoming” (anyone else remember this!?) which prompted me to YouTube old episodes of it. Yup. That took up an hour of my life.

Anyways, back to cookies. Just putting it out there that the quantity of these cookies are completely variable depending on the size of your cookie cutter. I’ve included the original recipe of the cookies as well. So, sorry for the lack of measurements in this recipe — they’re estimations. I literally took an immeasurable chunk out of the ball of dough I used. Good luck!
Imperial cookies Imperial cookies Imperial cookies Imperial cookies Imperial cookies Imperial cookiesImperial cookies (sugar cookie recipe from All Recipes)

What you’ll need:
– Batch of sugar cookies (recipe found here)
– 4 tbsp jam of choice
– Powdered sugar (optional)

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat oven to 375F.
2. Make cookie dough batter according to recipe. Take a handful of dough and saran wrap the rest and place in the fridge or freezer for a later use.
3. On a clean work space, take a handful of powdered sugar and “flour” the surface and rolling pin.
4. Take your dough and roll it out to a 1/4″ or 1’2″ thick. Take your favourite cookie cutters and cut away. Place cut cookies on a Silpat or parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Take a small cookie cutter and cut out the center in half of the cookies so a “hole” appears. Feel free to bake these smaller cookies off in a smaller batch.
5. Bake the cookies off for 6-8 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool.
6. Spread 1-2 tsps of jam on the cookies that were left whole. Take the cookies with the “hole” in them and sandwich them on top.
7. Dust with powdered sugar and serve with tea.

4 thoughts on “Cookies fit for a king (or queen).

  1. My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .
    net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because
    of the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been
    using WordPress on numerous websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another
    platform. I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

Leave a Reply

