Party/potluck food.

Brown rice and chick pea saladBringing food to parties or potlucks can be a daunting task. But it just takes a little planning, scrounging around in the cupboard and stepping outside to your garden for fresh herbs. Atleast in my world it is. But seriously. It should be a simple task, no?

I had a family dinner recently and not only was I tasked to bring dessert, I was also asked to bring an appetizer as well! 7 good eaters…what was I to bring? I looked around my house and it came to me: brown rice and chick pea salad.

You see, I had made a large pot of rice for a dish I had made earlier that day and also for the rest of the week (was hoping to make some fried rice). I made too much. But lucky for me, I had this dinner to go to so it was a perfect way to use some of it up. Basically, it was a clusterfuck of leftovers. Leftover cucumber and onion salad? Check. Dried chick peas? Check. Random herbs? Check. Cheese? Check. And might as well throw some spinach in there as well.

I was also DYING, just DYING, to use this hemp seed oil I got recently for $5.00 (retail price $24.99 + tax) at the wholesale food warehouse that provides Whole Foods and other organic foods stores (this amazing gem of a find in another post…maybe). Turned out pretty good. Definitely had some grassy notes in there but it was a good substitute for olive oil since I was pretty much out. But honestly, up to you. Just wanted to add some more Omega 3s in there.

But back to dinner parties, pot lucks, and more! If you’re ever planning (or forced) to bring food to feed a large amount of people, I always resort to salads. They’re relatively cost efficient and quick to make. Plus, the combinations are endless.

Happy cooking!
Brown rice and chick pea salad Brown rice and chick pea salad Brown rice and chick pea salad Brown rice and chick pea salad Brown rice and chick pea saladBrown rice and chick pea salad

What you’ll need:
– 3 cups brown rice, cooked
– 1 cups dried chick peas (about 1 3/4 cup cooked, or 1 can)
– 1/2 cup frozen spinach, thawed and drained
– Handful of chives, chopped
– 1/4 cup mint leaves, chopped
– 1/2 cucumber, diced
– 1/4 cup yellow onion, sliced
– 1 cup feta cheese, drained and crumbled
– 1/2 onion, zested and juiced
– 2 tbsp hemp seed oil
– Salt and pepper, to taste

What you’ll need to do:
1. Soak your chick peas in water for 2 hours or overnight. Transfer to a pot and cover with more water. Bring to a boil then simmer for 45 minutes or until chick peas are cooked. Drain, rinse and set aside.
2. In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients together and mix thoroughly. Makes 8-10 servings.

Leave a Reply

