1 more week til Korea!

Kimchi fried riceSeriously. By this time next week, I’ll be at YVR awaiting an 11.5 hour flight to Seoul, Korea! Excited. Although I am already feeling like I am in vacation mode, I still have a shit ton of work to do. 5 days of working, a crazy weekend of baking and last minute orders, my first ever market experience at the Hawker’s Market, Mother’s Day festivities, need to finish my passport challenge… I’m just thinking that I really don’t have time to pack. I’ll figure it out.

Even though I have tons of things on my mind, Korea is still the first thing on the brain. I made some kimchi fried rice the other day in celebration of my upcoming vacation.

Fried rice is one of those dishes that are just so easy, comforting and carbalicious. The essentials of fried rice (rice, eggs, green onion, soy) mixed with kimchi and applewood smoked bacon makes for the perfect kimchi fried rice. The spicy and sour hit from the kimchi paired with the smoky, salty bacon is practically a match made in heaven. Of course, you can make this vegetarian and omit the bacon but I totally think it’s necessary. And c’mon, can you honestly say no to bacon!??!

This dish also is so much better with white rice but since I don’t have anything white or refined in my house, I had to substitute with brown rice. S’all good. And make sure to use day old or leftover rice — it really makes a difference between soggy fried rice and perfectly caramelized fried rice. Trust me on this one.

Also, go with green onion/scallions for any fried rice. I used chives because there is just so much growing in my garden that I might as well utilize it. Chives are way milder in flavour but I always prefer the extra punch from the sharp, green onion. Again, your choice…

Happy eating!
Kimchi fried rice Kimchi fried rice Kimchi fried rice Kimchi fried rice Kimchi fried riceKimchi fried rice

What you’ll need:
– 2 tsps coconut or vegetable oil
– 2 free range eggs, scrambled
– 2 tsps coconut or vegetable oil
– 1 shallot, finely chopped
– 2 cloves garlic, minced
– 3 strips of bacon, cooked and finely chopped
– 1 cup kimchi, chopped
– 1 tbsp gochujang
– 4 cups day old rice
– 2 tsps soy sauce
– 1/3 cup chives, chopped

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a wok, heat your oil until hot over medium-high heat. Add your eggs and scramble them under medium heat. Once the eggs are cooked, place them in a separate container and return the wok back to the stove.
2. Heat the other 2 tsps of oil until hot. Add the shallots and garlic to the pan and saute over high heat for a minute. Do not burn.
3. Add the kimchi and gochujang to the wok and mix until everything is well-incorporated.
4. Next, add your rice, bacon and soy sauce. Mix thoroughly for 2 minutes. You can let it sit for a little bit to let the soy sauce caramelize the rice.
5. Turn off the heat and add your chives. Mix to combine. Makes 4-6 servings.

One thought on “1 more week til Korea!

  1. Pingback: Carbs. | Umami & Me

Leave a Reply

