Feeling a bit crumby.

Cake crumbsCrumby. Not crummy. Vacation is calling my name in less than week, for god’s sake!

Cake crumbs. Probably the easiest thing to make when you have leftover cake bits or crumbs from leveling a cake off. Crazily addicting, crunchy, and sweet. And you can do so, so much with them… Let me show you how!

Ever wondering what to do with leftover cake? Sure, you can eat it for the third day in a row or make labour-heavy cake pops (despise!!!!!) OR you can make cake crumbs. Cake crumbs? What’s that? Well, it’s exactly what it sounds like. Crumbs, made out of cake. But dried. It’s crunchy like a crouton and they are so, so versatile.

The first time I made cake crumbs was way back during December when I made an eggnog pound cake for a Christmas dinner. There was a wedge leftover and I was seriously so tired of eating cake (yes, it happens to me too). I remember reading something online about cake crumbs so that’s exactly what I did — I dehydrated them by baking them at a very low and slow temperature and voila…cake crumbs!

You can make this out of any cake — whether it is homemade, store bought, or whatever. It works and it is one of the most useful things in baking! Or atleast I think so. You can use it to side/sand cakes, add in on top of ice cream or yogurt, use as a decorative detail in cakes or cupcakes, and so on. Or you might just find yourself snacking on them like I do.
Cake crumbs Cake crumbs Cake crumbsCake crumbs

What you’ll need:
– Cake, crumbled into small pieces

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat your oven to 200F.
2. Line your baking sheet with parchment paper or a non-stick Silpat mat.
3. Place all the crumbs on the mat and depending on the size of your crumbs, bake them off for 2-3 hours.
4. Cool completely and store in a tightly sealed container. Stays fresh for a month (I’ve used mine up to 6 months).

Leave a Reply

