Uninspired cooking.

Spicy tofu and broccoli stir fryI’ll be honest with you — I haven’t been cooking any amazing dishes as of late. This week has been just chaotic. I’ve been seriously counting down the days to my vacation. I think I really need it.

So, I apologize for the next couple posts. In my opinion, they are rather boring and basic. I guess you could say that I’m kind of falling into a little slump. I’m feeling rather uninspired and just wanting to get the hell out of Vancouver. Weather has been so great lately and I hardly feel like eating! So again, sorry.

Today’s dish? Spicy tofu and broccoli stir fry.

You know when I’m running out of ideas when I make a stir fry. That, or I am being just extremely lazy. Kind of feeling like both.

I picked up this organic tofu and broccoli from the Whole Food’s Market (will reveal this place in a couple of posts). I was craving for some non-animal protein (tofu) and some veg (broccoli) in my diet. The tofu was super cheap at $1.00/package so I picked up four — medium and extra firm. Now, I love me some tofu but this is clearly not the Asian kind. I don’t mean to sound racist or anything but anytime I pick up tofu from a non-Asian grocer, it is just not the same. And trust me, I am very aware in regards to the differences in tofu (silky, firm, smoked, etc). This was just disgusting. As in freakin’ dry. The texture was off and I got tired of it really fast. It ruined a perfectly good dish. Bah, I’ve learned my lesson. Go with an Asian brand of tofu. Atleast the broccoli was great. More stalk than florets but I was okay with that.

Other than that and as any stir fries are, this is a relatively quick and easy dish. Feel free to add other veggies or other protein in it and make it your own.
Spicy tofu and broccoli stir fry Spicy tofu and broccoli stir fry Spicy tofu and broccoli stir frySpicy tofu and broccoli stir fry

What you’ll need:
– 2 pkgs of extra firm tofu, cut into cubes
– 2 large broccoli (4 small heads), chopped
– 2 tsps coconut or vegetable oil
– 4 cloves garlic, minced
– 4 tbsp gochujang
– 2 tbsp soy sauce
– 2 tbsp sriracha
– 2 tsps dried red chili flakes
– Sesame seeds, for garnish

What you’ll need to do:
1. Steam your broccoli in a large wok with 1/2 cup of water over medium heat. Remove from wok when cooked.
2. Return the wok to the pan and bring the heat up to medium-high heat.
3. Heat your oil until hot and add the garlic. Saute for 1 minute. Do not let it burn.
4. Add your tofu to the pan with the gochujang, soy sauce, sriracha and dried red chili flakes and cook for 3 minutes.
5. Bring the broccoli back to the wok and mix thoroughly. Cook for another minute until everything is heated through.
6. Serve on top with rice and sesame seeds. Makes 6-8 servings.

One thought on “Uninspired cooking.

  1. i feel so cheated, I’m a vegetarian and I’ve only ever bought white person (sunrise) tofu and didn’t even think there’d be a difference, what brands do you recommend?

Leave a Reply

