I’M BACK!!!

Almond butter honey tartsI’M BACK FROM VACATION!!! And seriously so behind on my posts. Can’t wait to gush all about my vacation in Korea and the Philippines. Let me just say that I am so inspired to make my own versions of my favourite dishes in each country. I most certainly ate very well when I was there (5lbs heavier now…some people suggest that I have eaten both South Korea and the Philippines whole!) and I cannot WAIT to cook some dishes from my own heritage and my favourite spicy country. Stoked!

In the meantime, the next few days will be some older posts that I didn’t get a chance to finish while I was away. First up? Almond butter honey tarts.

When I first laid my eyes on Joy the Baker‘s almond butter honey tarts, I was in heaven. And I knew immediately that I had to make ASAP. Finally, the time has come.

As a self-pronounced almond butter lover, this tarts were right down my alley. Subtly sweet, nutty, and rich yet light, it is another genius creation from another one of my favourite food bloggers. And since I had a few (read: 50) pre-made tart shells left, this was the perfection opportunity to finally use them all up and to get rid of that giant box occupying like 50% of my freezer.

So, instead of a huge, large tart that was sliced into pieces as stated on Joy’s original recipe, I just made cute little mini tarts instead. Individual portions are the bomb, anyways. And I didn’t want to go all the way with adding a chocolate ganache on top so I omitted that completely and substituted with some dark chocolate shavings instead (I am lazy). Still turned out pretty tasty!
Almond butter honey tarts Almond butter honey tarts Almond butter honey tarts Almond butter honey tarts Almond butter honey tartsAlmond butter honey tarts

What you’ll need:
– 50 mini frozen pre-made pie shells
– 1 carton (1 1/2 cups) whipping cream
– 1 pkg whipped cream stabilizer
– 1 pkg (8 oz) cream cheese, room temperature
– 1/2 cup almond butter
– 1/2 cup honey
– 1 tsp Madagascar bourbon vanilla extract
– Dark chocolate bar (optional)
– 50 roasted or raw whole almonds (optional)

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Place pie shells on two large baking sheets. Bake for 15 minutes. Cool, and set aside.
2. Meanwhile, place your mixing bowl in the freezer while you assemble the rest of the ingredients. For this recipe, it’s best if you have a stainless steel bowl for mixing (or a KitchenAid stand mixer). If not, no worries. This is just to keep the whipped cream from collapsing.
3. First, whip your whipped cream. Place in a separate small bowl and keep in the fridge while waiting.
4. Mix the cream cheese, almond butter, honey and vanilla extract together. Once all the ingredients are emulsified, slowly fold in the whipped cream until everything is well combined.
5. Fill a piping bag with a star tip and pipe filling into the pie shells. There will probably be leftover — throw this onto pancakes, cakes, dip strawberries in it, etc.
6. If you’d like, create chocolate shavings but grating them on the smallest and finest grate on a cheese grater. If you like bigger curls, shave it off with a sharp knife (but don’t cut yourself!).
7. Garnish each tart with one whole almond.

Leave a Reply

