And the last boring post…

Northern gai lan and chicken yakiudonOkay, this will be the last boring post that I forgot to write before my vacation. I seriously meant to write all these posts beforehand so I could post them throughout my 3.5 week vacation in Asia but just ran out of time and didn’t get around to doing it! I had the full intention of doing it (all my pictures were upoaded, yay!) but procrastination got to me (read: last minute packing) and, well, now we’re here. Apologies!!!

So today’s post is another one about using up leftovers (actually, this whole blog seems to have that theme…) and it turned out amazing as always: Northern gai lan and chicken yakiudon.

As I had mentioned earlier, I wanted to use up everything in the fridge before I left. I didn’t want anything to go to waste and I wanted to ensure that my boyfriend was fed well before veering off into the dark side (read: fast food!). I think I provided enough for for about…one day. Fail!

I had a bunch of leftovers from a family BBQ (rotisserie chicken) and some fresh produce that had just been a little bit forgetten in the crisper (northern gai lan). My boyfriend’s aunt grows a lot of her own produce and gifted us with a huge bag of a northern variety of gai lan (Chinese broccoli). This was not the same type of gai lan that you would expect say, at weekend dim sum. The stalks were a lot thinner and the leaves made up most of the vegetable. Needless to say, it was still delicious but more comparable to kangkong (Filipino water spinach) or spinach itself.

Having a leftover rotisserie chicken was a godsend. I had volunteered to take it home since there were a lot of leftovers going around and rotisserie chicken is such a good ingredient to have in the kitchen. Not only is it a cheap alternative to take out, you can cook up the bones and make stock, a soup, etc. and flake off the chicken to add to a countless number of dishes. Really, that number is endless. This time I decided to throw it in a quick yakiudon.

Like my other yakiudon dishes, this one does not stray from the pack. It is quick, easy, and filling and it won’t take you much time at all. Feel free to substitute other vegetables (bok choy, pea greens, spinahc, etc.) as well as the protein. It is basic but I’m trying to encourage some creativity in your heads so you can feel confident in your kitchen too! Give it a try and let me know how it goes.
Northern gai lan and chicken yakiudon Northern gai lan and chicken yakiudon Northern gai lan and chicken yakiudon Northern gai lan and chicken yakiudonNorthern gai lan and chicken yakiudon

What you’ll need:
– 3 pkgs (200g each) udon noodles
– 1 tbsp fragrance-free coconut oil
– 3 garlic cloves, minced
– 6 cups Northern gai lan, stems minced and leaves chopped
– 1 1/2 cups rotisserie chicken, flaked (skin omitted)
– 1 1/2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
– 4 tbsp soy sauce
– Japanese mayonnaise (optional)
– Sriracha (optional)
– Roasted nori, shredded (optional)

What you’ll need to do:
1. Cook your udon noodles according to packaged directions (in boiling water for 3 minutes). Drain, rinse, and set aside.
2. In a wok, heat your coconut oil over medium-high heat until melted. Add the garlic and saute for 1 minute.
3. Add the gai lan and saute for 3 minutes or until everything is wilted.
4. Add your chicken and udon and mix to combine. Add the Worcestershire and soy sauce and cook for another 3 minutes until there is a visible char and the caramelization of the soy sauce is present.
4. Top with Japanese mayo, sriracha, and shredded nori if desired. Makes 4-6 servings.

One thought on “And the last boring post…

  1. Pingback: Forever a noodle queen. | Umami & Me

Leave a Reply

