Move over, hummus.

Red kidney bean dipI love it when people are having parties or potlucks because it gives me a reason for me to use up all of my leftovers, yay! Secret revealed. It’s both a good and a bad thing because 1) I’m recycling all my leftovers but 2) I always end up making something amazing. And this time around was no exception. Forget hummus, I made the best damn bean dip ever — red kidney bean dip.

Now, I really hate red kidney beans. I strongly feel that they are only useful when being used in chilis and soups and that’s about it. I don’t know — I’ve just never been a fan. So when my friends, Adam and Ani, invited me to their birthday party, I knew I was going to use them all up and that eye sore of a jar of red kidney beans would be forever gone. Success!

But when I actually finished making the dip, it was so good that I was a little sad that I would be giving it all away. Atleast I was able to share the greatness of this dip with such a fun crowd — it turned out to be a big hit!

Again, feel free to switch up the beans and herbs and spices to your liking; however, there are a few ingredients that I believe are vital for this recipe. The cinnamon is an absolute necessity in this recipe as it imparts a unique flavour that just melts in with the beans. The lime juice also adds a fruity note to this dip as well. And finally, the caramelized onions add an overall sweetness that completes the balancing act.

Please try this recipe as-is and I am sure you will be WOW’d just as much as me.
Red kidney bean dip Red kidney bean dip Red kidney bean dip Red kidney bean dip Red kidney bean dipRed kidney bean dip (adapted from Nigella Lawson)

What you’ll need:
– 1 tbsp coconut oil
– 1 small onion, sliced
– 4 cloves garlic, smashed
– 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
– 3/4 tsp ground cumin
– 1/2 tsp whole coriander seeds
– 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
– 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
– 1/2 tsp sumac
– 3 cups red kidney beans, cooked
– 1 lime, juice and pulp
– 1 tbsp chives, roughly chopped
– 1/4 cup Italian flat leaf parsley, roughly chopped
– Hemp seed oil, as needed (I did about 8 tbsp)
– Salt, to taste

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a small saucepan, dry toast all of the spices (cinnamon to sumac) for 1 minute or until fragrant. Remove from heat.
2. In a separate saucepan, heat the coconut oil until it melts over high heat.
3. Add the onions and sweat it out for 1 minute. Lower the heat down to medium-high heat and add the garlic. Add the spices and caramelize the aromatics for 10 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.
4. Place all of the ingredients into a food processor and blend until smooth. Add as little or as much oil until you get your desired thickness (less oil for more of a chunkier dip, more oil for a thinner dip).
5. Serve with tortilla chips or store the dip in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

