Asian pesto.

Soba noodles with chive, parsley and miso pistouWell, technically it’s a pistou but since so many people are more familiarized with the term pesto, I decided to use that term instead (a pistou is similar to a pesto but it does not contain cheese or nuts). But this recipe here is very close to a pesto, you’ll see why. But…an Asian pistou!? Yes, my friends, I was inspired. Inspired to experiment in the kitchen with yet another chilled noodle salad. This time around? Soba noodles with chive, parsley and miso pistou.

When I get lazy, I will just make a pistou or a pesto. Generally, I’ll make a pistou since it’s even lazier than doing a pesto (no grating cheese or squeezing lemons or tracking down nuts in the pantry!) and in my opinion, more flavour and lower in fat. I wanted to use up some soba noodles so I was already going to go down the Asian pathway but I wanted to try something new.
=
I wanted to make a pesto of some sorts. I had some leftover Italian flat leaf parsley and, as always, an abundance of chives growing in the backyard. I wondered about chive pesto but the flavour is just so mild and I didn’t want anything else to overpower it. I also wanted to use up the bunch of parsley I had leftover and that would definitely throw off the chive. Then I thought, “Gosh, I should add something in there!”. And that component was miso. In this case, miso replaced the salty Parmesan cheese and rice vinegar was set in place instead of the lemon. And my oh my, did it ever work!

Rice vinegar was the most dominant flavour in this recipe and you can tone it done if you please. If you are making this ahead of time, I would either keep the sauce separate from the noodles or cook the noodles until a very al dente since the noodles make soak some of the sauce and making it too soft.

Happy noodle-eating!
Soba noodles with chive, parsley and miso pistou Chive, parsley and miso pistou Soba noodles with chive, parsley and miso pistou Soba noodle with chive, parsley and miso pistouSoba noodle salad with chive, parsley and miso pistou

What you’ll need:

Noodles
– 5 bundles buckwheat soba noodles
– 1 1/2 pkgs marinated bean curd, cubed (about 4 cups)
– Bunch of fresh chives, chopped
– Handful of fresh mint, chopped
– Sesame needs (optional)
– Togarashi spice (optional)
– Nori, shredded (optional)

Chive, parsley and miso pistou
– 2 cups chives, roughly chopped
– 1 1/2 cups Italian flat leaf parsley
– 2 tbsp aka miso paste
– 1 tbsp gochujang
– 1″ knob of ginger, roughly chopped
– 2 cloves garlic, smashed
– 2 1/2 tbsp rice vinegar
– 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, more if needed

What you’ll need to do:
1. Cook the soba noodles in a pot of boiling water according to packaged directions. Drain, rinse in cold water and set aside.
2. While the noodles are cooking, make the pistou. Throw all of the ingredients into a food processor and blend until everything is well incorporated.
3. Toss the noodles with the pistou and add the marinated bean curd and fresh herbs.
4. Top the noodles with sesame seeds, togarashi and nori. Serve cold on top of shredded lettuce and spinach or heated.

2 thoughts on “Asian pesto.

  1. This sounds delightful! I made a pistou last night with chives and basil, and I want to re-purpose the bit I have leftover into a salad dressing tonight. Adding some miso would round it out nicely! Lovely idea.

Leave a Reply

