Enchiladas…the vegan way.

Sweet potato and kale enchiladasI’ve never been a huge enchilada fan. In fact, I never really CHOOSE to ever order this. I think I’ve only ever had it about 3 times and yes, I can probably state out those times for you:

1) When I was working in Taco del Mar. Fast-food style. Yup.
2) When I was in NYC with my mom in 2007. SO. MUCH. CHEESE. Usually not a problem but it was seriously cheese overload…
3) When this guy took me on a date to The Warehouse. Hard rice. And just plain disgusting. The enchilada and the guy. Never again.

But…I decided to give it another try — my way. Sweet potato and kale enchiladas.

I actually made this a little while back but, as you’ve noticed, have had absolutely no time to post it. Heck, I was such in a rush that day (did a morning street festival, rushed home, then had to go set up shop at the Hawkers Market) that I didn’t even have time to Instagram it! (Seriously bad — anyone that knows me that I must snap a pic of any food I make, no matter how hungry/rushed I am. My mind was obviously somewhere else that day).

It’s vegan, it’s healthy (minus the wrap), and it’s delicious. Just think about it: the sweet potatoes, onions and kale substitute your meat, and the lentils substitute rice. So good. Although the raw enchilada sauce did make it soggy initially (I was so hungry, I couldn’t wait), I would actually leave it out to cool down and to dry out a little bit — it was PERFECT the next day. Also, if you like cheese, feel free to add some. It was honestly good without it but give it a try and let me know how it goes!
Sweet potato and kale enchiladas Sweet potato and kale enchiladas Sweet potato and kale enchiladas Sweet potato and kale enchiladas Sweet potato and kale enchiladas Sweet potato and kale enchiladas Sweet potato and kale enchiladasSweet potato and kale enchiladas

What you’ll need:

Enchiladas
– 1 tbsp ghee, or vegetable oil
– 1 onion, sliced
– 2 cloves garlic, minced
– 4 cups sweet potato, cooked and diced (I used a bag of frozen)
– 1 bunch lacinato (dinosaur kale), sliced thinly, stems included
– 1 cup green lentils, cooked
– 1/2 cup homemade stock
– 1 tsp cayenne pepper
– 1 tbsp chipotle juice (from a can)
– Salt and pepper, to taste
– 5 whole wheat tortillas

Raw enchilada sauce
– 1 (28.5 oz) can diced tomatoes
– 2 whole chipotle peppers (from a can)
– 2 tbsp chipotle juice (from a can)
– 1 tsp kosher salt

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a medium saucepan, melt ghee over medium-high heat until melted.
2. Add the onions to the pan and let caramelize over medium heat while you get the other ingredients ready, about 10 minutes.
3. Increase the heat back up to medium-high and add the garlic and saute for 1 minute.
4. Add your sweet potatoes, lentils, kale, stock, and spices. Cook for about 5 minutes or until the kale is wilted. Remove from heat and let cool. Preheat the oven to 375F.
5. While the oven is preheating, add all of the ingredients in a food processor and blend. It will be spicy. Start with one chipotle pepper and add the second one if you like it hot. Note: you will have a LOT of extra sauce, about 3 additional cups. Freeze this and use it to make Mexican rice, chili, soups, sauces, etc.
6. On a plate, get one tortilla and fill it with a generous amount of sweet potato filling. Roll it up and place it in a casserole dish. Repeat with the other four enchiladas.
7. Once all the tortillas are in the casserole dish, spoon over about 1 cup of the enchilada sauce. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes. Again, the top may get soggy as there is a lot of liquid present in the sauce. I would recommend letting it “dry out” for a few hours or spoon the sauce on yourself before serving. Makes 5 enchiladas.

Leave a Reply

