A Thai take on pistou.

Cilantro and scallion pistouAs you may know, I am a huge fan of pistou. Again, if you aren’t familiar with what a pistou is, it is basically a blended sauce comprised of various herbs, garlic and oil. I’ve made so many different pistous but my favourite would have to be of the cilantro variety.

Today I mixed it up a bit and made a cilantro and scallion pistou.

I actually had intentions of making a pad thai but realized I had run out of banh pho noodles. Sad panda. What was I to do? Of course, with the amazing skills I learned from watching way too many episodes of Chop, I had to improvise. I still wanted to keep the Thai influence so I changed up my usual cilantro pistou recipe with the addition of salty fish sauce and lime juice.

I had mine with soba noodles and broccoli but this sauce is AMAZING on chicken, fish, or tofu. I made a similar sauce to this last summer and marinated my chicken thighs on it (when I was still eating meat on a regular basis) and fired those babies on the grill. Delicious, swear to god. Another good way to use up this sauce was to toss it in with some white jasmine rice to complement some protein. Heck, you can have it both ways if you really want to!
Cilantro and scallion pistou Cilantro and scallion pistou Cilantro and scallion pistou Cilantro and scallion pistouCilantro and chive pistou

What you’ll need:
– 1 bunch fresh cilantro, washed and roughly chopped into 2″ pieces
– 1 bunch fresh scallions, washed and roughly chopped into 2″ pieces
– 1 knob of ginger, about the size of your thumbnail, minced
– 3 cloves garlic, whole
– 1 lime, juice only
– 1 tbsp fish sauce
– 1 tbsp olive oil

What you’ll need to do:
1. Throw all of the ingredients into a food processor and blend. Use it to marinate chicken, fish or tofu, or as a condiment for rice or sauce for noodles. Makes 1/2 cup.

One thought on “A Thai take on pistou.

  1. Pingback: An unlikely combination. | Umami & Me

Leave a Reply

