Something German.

Sauerkraut, kale, bratwurst and bacon pastaEvery year in Vancouver they put on something called the Vancouver Christmas Market. It takes place in the plaza at Queen Elizabeth Theatre and is reminiscent of the famous outdoor markets that happen around Christmastime in Germany. I can’t personally vouch for that since I’ve never been to Germany myself, but I’ve been told that the one we have is pretty convincing.

My first time at the Christmas market was last year and I had a grand time. I had so much of a grand time that I think went like three times or something (I know because I have three of those mugs at home). They have so many delicious food vendors there specializing in all things German such as bratwurst, schnitzel, hot mulled wine, various pastries filled with all kinds of nuts, and, of course, spaetzle.

Spaetzle is a German-style pasta that is handmade and boiled in water. The one that they served at the market was tossed in butter, sauerkraut, double smoked prosciutto and topped with emmental cheese and crispy fried onions. To die for. I had this twice when I was there…so good. And when I had it, I knew I had to make it again at home somehow.

Hello, sauerkraut, kale, bratwurst and bacon pasta.

I was at the Saturday Market at UNFI and found these awesome jars of sauerkraut for only $5.00. I had only one thing on my mind — I was going to try to recreate that spaetzle dish.

Although it wasn’t exactly the same dish as the one I had sampled at the market, it was still a big hit at my house. Sauerkraut, leftover bacon, German bratwurst and some healthy kale did the treat. I actually prefer adding more fresh sauerkraut on each individual servings — adds a nice touch to it — plus, I’m a huge sauerkraut fan.
Sauerkraut, kale, bratwurst and bacon pasta Sauerkraut, bratwurst, kale and bacon pasta Sauerkraut, kale, bratwurst and bacon pasta Sauerkraut, kale, bratwurst, and bacon pasta Sauerkraut, kale, bratwurst and bacon pastaSauerkraut, kale, bratwurst and bacon pasta

What you’ll need:
– 1 pkg (500g) pasta
– 2 cups sauerkraut
– 1 tbsp ghee or butter
– 2 small onions, sliced
– 4 cloves garlic, minced
– 1 bratwurst, cooked and casing removed
– 4 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
– 1 bunch lacinato kale, sliced into strips, stems included
– 1 tsp dried red chili flakes
– Salt and pepper, to taste
– Additional sauerkraut (optional)

What you’ll need to do:
1. Cook your pasta according to packaged directions in a seasoned, boiling pot of water. Cook until al dente, drain, and rinse in cold water. Set aside.
2. In a medium saucepan, melt your ghee or butter over medium-high heat.
3. Add the onions to the pan and caramelize, reducing the heat to medium and cook for about 10 minutes or longer while you prep the rest of the ingredients (I boiled my sausage and cooked my bacon while waiting, about 15 minutes total).
4. Once the onions are nicely caramelized nicely, add the garlic and sauerkraut and cook for about 5 minutes.
5. Add the kale and cook until wilted, about another 5 minutes.
6. Add the bacon, bratwurst and spices.
7. Turn off the heat and toss the pasta with the the ingredients in the saucepan.
8. Ladle off into bowls and top with additional sauerkraut and Parmesan or emmental cheese. Makes 6-8 servings.

Leave a Reply

