Back to basics.

Spicy garlic green beansSorry for the lack of entries lately. You can blame mountains of cake orders, being understaffed at my full-time job and my recent discovery of Breaking Bad. Yeah, it’s really more of the latter since I’m pretty damn obsessed right now (I’m already finished Season 3 and it’s only been a week) and trying to catch up before the series ends. That said, I haven’t been cooking too much. I’ve also been sick and going out to eat a lot since all I crave nowadays are noodle soup basically everyday.

But I’m finally back in the kitchen and ready to share more recipes with you!

First up? Spicy garlic green beans.

My boyfriend is a huge, HUGE fan of Szechuan green beans and it’s really a surprise that I haven’t come around to making them yet. Part of that is because I’m too lazy to get the extra ingredients and that I can make something similar that is just as delicious.

I don’t really want to call this my version of Szechuan green beans since there is no real Szechuan element present but they definitely do remind of those spicy, salty beans that we also seem to get at some Chinese restaurants. This summer has been great for green beans so I finally whipped up a batch for him.

This recipe is super simple. Green beans, garlic, soy sauce, red hot chili flakes and black pepper — simple as that. The whole thing will maybe take 10 minutes, including prep time so if you`re ever in need of a quick side dish or even a great meal, try making my spicy garlic green beans. They`re sure to satisfy even the pickiest of eaters.
Spicy garlic green beans Spicy garlic green beans Spicy garlic green beansSpicy garlic green beans

What you`ll need:
– 1/2 lb green beans, rinsed and ends trimmed
– 1 tsp ghee or vegetable oil
– 5 cloves garlic, minced
– 1 1/2 tbsp soy sauce
– 1/2 tsp dried red chili flakes
– Freshly ground black pepper

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a wok, melt your ghee over medium-high heat.
2. Add the garlic to the wok and saute for 15 seconds.
3. Add the green beans to the pan and saute for 1 minute.
4. Add the soy sauce, red chili flakes and black pepper and saute for another 2 minutes. The soy sauce should caramelize and evaporate – there should be no leftover liquid. Serve as a side or with rice. Makes 2-4 small servings or 1-2 entree size servings.

Leave a Reply

