Bringing a little Southern charm to the table.

Cornbread chili casseroleThe weather has definitely taken a turn as of late and it seems that summer has officially left the building. Gone are the days of cold noodle salads, raw everything, and drinks on the patio. The time has come to switch that up for soups, stews, and casseroles. Let’s welcome fall with a spicy cornbread chili casserole.

Remember a few weeks back I made a kick-ass chili? It was indeed kick-ass…so much so that I made so much to feed an army. I had so much leftover that I was actually getting sick of it (trust me, I tried reconstituting it in EVERYTHING – burritos, on top of rice, bread, etc). It was time to recreate it into something new. And no, I did not keep it in my fridge for all these weeks. I’m just way, WAY behind on blog posts right now.

I decided to bake it in a casserole. Now, you know how I feel about casseroles — they are for lazy people that aren’t clever enough to think of something new. Lazy, yes. Unclever? Lies. I decided to put a southern twist on it and add cornbread on top. Genius? I would think so.

I’ve never made cornbread before but it’s probably the easiest type of “bread” to make, in my opinion. It’s so simple and basically foolproof. If you screw this up then I really don’t have faith you. Just mix the ingredients in and plop it on top on the chili. Or feel free to bake it off on its own. The addition of fresh or canned corn as well as some cheddar cheese and cilantro to make it even more irresistable.
Cornbread chili casserole Cornbread chili casserole Cornbread chili casserole Cornbread chili casserole Cornbread chili casserole Cornbread chili casserole Cornbread chili casseroleCornbread chili casserole (cornbread recipe adapted from All Recipes)

What you’ll need:
– 1 1/2 cups yellow cornmeal
– 2 1/2 cups unsweetened almond milk
– 1 cup all purpose whole wheat flour
– 1 tbsp baking powder
– 1/2 cup granulated sugar
– 2 free range eggs
– 1/2 cup vegetable oil
– 2 tsps dried chili flakes
– Handful of fresh chives, chopped
– Salt and pepper, to taste
– 7 cups chili

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat oven to 400F and lightly grease a 9×13 pan.
2. Pour your favourite chili into the casserole dish.
3. Mix the cornmeal and almond milk together and let sit for 5 minutes.
4. In your mixer, add of the dry ingredients and the cornmeal-milk mixture and mix until everything is well incorporated.
5. Pour the cornbread mixture on top of the chili.
6. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until a cake tester is inserted in the cornbread and it comes out clean. Makes 8-10 servings.

Leave a Reply

