Baby cakes.

Acorn squash cakesAn ingredient that you might always find on my counter at home would be squash. I absolutely adore squash, more for its longevity in terms of staying fresh (they can just sit for 3 months if stored in a cool, dry place!!!) but also because they are delicious and so good for you! And when I saw My New Roots’ post on squash cakes, I knew I had to make that a priority on my “to cook list”. And here it is!

My mom lives right by the Kins Farm Market Outlet (I have yet to visit this place myself – sounds like a dream) and they had a variety of squashes on sale for $1.00 EACH. Pretty un-freaking-believable since squashes are like, $1.29 per POUND. But anyways, she was coming to see me on the weekend and decided to pick up a couple for me.

I had already used up the butternut squash and a larger acorn squash but I still had one small baby acorn squash left to use. After having udon with squash sauce, squash tacos, and butternut squash soup, it was time for something new. When I had laid my eyes on this recipe, my heart skipped a beat. Although hers were made with spaghetti squash, I made my own substitutions and they turned out so well!

I would imagine these squash cakes could also be made into larger patties as well and could possibly be a substitute for a veggie burger or something. That would be good. I also drizzled some cilantro-garlic-yogurt sauce on them (which I will be reserved for a future post!) which added a nice spicy kick to it.

Basically, have fun with it and enjoy!
Acorn squash cakes Acorn squash cakes Acorn squash cakes Acorn squash cakes Acorn squash cakesAcorn squash cakes (adapted from My New Roots)

What you’ll need:
– 1 1/2 cups acorn squash, mashed
– 1 cup oats, grinded into a coarse oat flour
– 4 cloves garlic, minced
– 1 stalk green onion, chopped
– 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated finely
– 1 egg
– 1 tsp red chili flakes
– 2 tsps dried sage
– Salt and pepper, to taste
– Ghee, as needed

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a bowl, mix all of the ingredients together and form into palm-sized patties. If the mixture is too dry, add a tbsp of water at a time. If it is too wet, gradually add more oat flour until the patties can hold their shape.
2. In a saucepan, melt the ghee over medium-high heat and fry the patties on each side until crispy and browned, about 5 minutes each side. Serve with a cilantro-garlic-yogurt sauce.

Leave a Reply

