A little taste of Deutschland.

Braised red cabbageI love German food. Juicy bratwursts, rouladen, spaetzle, sauerkraut… Ugh, can you say heaven?! Besides all the big names in German food, there is one side dish that has totally stolen my heart and is completely simple and just seems to go with EVERYTHING. I’m talking about braised red cabbage.

During a trip out to my family’s old summer house in Harrison Hot Springs, I spotted a quaint little German restaurant in the middle of nowhere off Lougheed Hwy. It was the one of the two restaurants in the Mission/Maple Ridge border that we came across on and on our way back, I just knew I had to give that place a visit. This wonderful place was calledSchnitzelhaus.

My mom had the schnitzel and I had the sausage combo. SO GOOD. Everything was amazing and the portions were pretty generous. As much as I loved all the meat, I just couldn’t get my mind off the side of braised red cabbage that came with the meal. I knew I had to learn how to cook this at home but the opportunity never presented itself to me…until now.

Braised red cabbage is pretty much a staple in German cuisine. Along with sauerkraut and pretzles, it is basically like the banchan, or side dishes, of German food. Tangy like sauerkraut but with a sweet edge, it is the perfect balance of sweet and sour (and not in a gross Chinese way). It’s surprisingly addictive by itself, as a side, in tacos, in rice bowls, or just about with anything. It is a complete cinch to make — almost a set it and forget it deal. The longer you let it sit undisturbed while it’s cooking, the better.

…and now I’m craving German food. Anyone know of any great German places in Vancouver!?
Braised red cabbage Braised red cabbage Braised red cabbage Braised red cabbage Braised red cabbage Braised red cabbageBraised red cabbage

What you’ll need:
– 1 tbsp ghee
– 1 small onion, sliced
– 1 1/2 Granny Smith apples, sliced thinly
– 1 head of red cabbage, cored and sliced
– 1/2 cup white vinegar
– 1/4 cup granulated sugar
– 3 tsps salt
– 1/2 tsp ground cloves

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a medium pot over medium-high heat, melt the ghee. Add the onion and saute for 1 minute.
2. Add the sliced apples and cook for 5 minutes or until soft.
3. Add the shredded cabbage, stir, and add the rest of the ingredients. Bring to a boil then reduce the heat to low, cover, and simmer for 2 hours. Serve with bratwursts, sauerkraut and sour cream.

One thought on “A little taste of Deutschland.

  1. Pingback: Move over, Cactus Club. | Umami & Me

Leave a Reply

