An unlikely combination.

Green pea, sunflower seed and miso pasteAs much as I absolutely love cooking, there are days where I just want something made for me. Sadly, I live by myself (well, with a roommate but that doesn’t count) so I’m responsible for all of the cooking. This is where frozen food and instant noodles come in. I usually always have some food frozen in my freezer. And no, not just food that I’ve made. I’m talking about store bought tortellini, soups, shrimp  — you name it. I’m totally guilty!!! And not ashamed. A girl’s gotta eat, y’know!

But sometimes there are just those random ingredients that just sit there FOREVER and in my freezer, it’s those sad mixed vegetable medleys. That, or peas. Sick of seeing the same frozen organic green peas over and over again, I was inspired to make a green pea, sunflower seed and miso pesto.

Originally, I was set out to make a green pea and miso hummus to snack on at work at the office. But at my house, there’s a rule set in place: NO THROWING OUT PERFECTLY GOOD INGREDIENTS. I have instilled that in my roommate’s head. Whenever I see ingredients that have sat in the fridge for a while and end up in the trash, I get really sad. No, really. I actually get really sad! You all know how much I hate wasting ingredients so I shared this sentiment with my roommate and surprise, surprise – she left me some freshly expired (oxymoron, much?) Parmesan cheese. Whatever — expiry dates are just guidelines anyways…

So with a small handful Parmesan cheese, I thought to myself, “Why don’t I just make pesto?” because honestly, it’s been a little while since I’ve made pesto. If you’re long time reader of mine, you might have noticed that I tend to make pesto quite often. It’s kind of an addiction. And it was time to pop my pesto-making-cherry in my new place.

This recipe is incredibly delicious. It is the perfect balance of sweet and salty with a subtle crunch. Who knew that green peas, sunflower seeds and miso would pair so beautifully together? This pesto is rather chunky vs. liquid as I prefer it that way. Plus, it can double up as a dip which is how I had it. Toss with hot pasta + pasta water and you’re all set.
Green pea, sunflower seed and miso pesto Green pea, sunflower seed and miso pesto Green pea, sunflower seed and miso pesto Green pea, sunflower seed and miso pesto Green pea, sunflower seed and miso paste Green pea, sunflower seed and miso pesto

What you’ll need:
– 2 cups frozen green peas, thawed
– 2 cloves garlic, smashed
– 4 tsps shiro miso
– 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
– 1 tbsp lemon juice
– 1/8 cup extra virgin olive oil
– 1/2 cup sunflower seeds, hulled
– Salt and pepper, to taste

What you’ll need to do:
1. Throw all the ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth. Serve as a dip with chips or pita or with your favourite pasta. Makes 3 cups worth.

Leave a Reply

