The best chocolate cake ever.

Raw chocolate banana fudge cakeAnd what’s even more exciting about it? It’s vegan, gluten-free AND raw. Yes, folks. Probably the best thing ever created. This pure genius idea was brought to you by Chocolate Covered Katie, one of my favourite dessert blogs ever. She makes all the traditional desserts into delicious, healthy ones that you don’t end up feeling guilty about!

This was the first recipe I’ve tried out from her website and I haven’t looked back since. Her raw chocolate banana fudge cake is to die for.

I was originally intending to find uses for a jar of coconut butter by Nutiva that I had purchased recently. I had no idea how to use it and the instructions on the jar weren’t helping me either! Their recommended uses for it included adding it into smoothies, salad dressings, desserts, oatmeals, icings and so on. Unfortunately, nothing was coming to mind and I resorted to Google.

Nutiva calls their coconut butter “manna” and I was so confused because I used that as a keyword and hardly anything was popping up! I mean, it was a delicious spread but I probably would not eat it on my own. Other people would say otherwise but it wasn’t my preference. Luckily, I discovered that “manna” was just their fancy/branded word for coconut butter.

Now, coconut butter and coconut oil are NOT the same thing. Coconut oil is comprised of just the oil which is extracted from the meat. Coconut butter, however, is the meat of the coconut which is blended and pureed until a smooth, creamy substance. Both of them can be liquefied and are excellent in raw recipes which is my preference in using them.

Now onto the cake. This cake is actually good for you. It does not contain any refined sugars, dairy products, gluten, or anything bad for you. It is a whole food dessert due to the coconut butter and slightly sweetened by the mashed banana and maple syrup. It can be quickly whipped up in a mere matter of minutes — waiting for it to solidify is the hardest part! I mean, if you really can’t wait, you can pretty much eat it out of the bowl (I’ve done this already).

It’s also a very forgiving recipe with interchangeable mix-ins (I’ve already made it with frozen strawberries) and it’s a SINGLE SERVING DESSERT. Even better! I am being drawn into more of these single serving recipes since I have such a bad habit of eating so much more whenever I bake a whole batch of something. Even if I double, triple or quadruple this recipe, I won’t feel as bad. This recipe really makes enough for 2 muffin cups which is perfect for me — one for now and one for later. Heaven!

Anyways, I really don’t know what you’re waiting for. Go ahead and make this NOW.
Raw chocolate banana fudge cake Raw chocolate banana fudge cake Raw chocolate banana fudge cake Raw chocolate banana fudge cake Raw chocolate banana fudge cakeRaw chocolate banana fudge cake (adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie)

What you’ll need:
– 1/2 overripe banana, mashed
– 4 tbsp coconut butter, melted
– 2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
– 5 tbsp cocoa powder, sifted
– 1 tbsp maple syrup

What you’ll need to do:
1. Throw all the ingredients into a food processor and blend until very smooth.
2. Pour into 2 individual silicon muffin cups. Freeze for a minimum of 4 hours or overnight. Bring out 30 minutes prior to serving. Makes 2 single serving cups.

Leave a Reply

