Coconut jam.

KayaIt seems like coconuts are all the rage nowadays. But as a Filipino, I freakin’ grew up with this shit! Coconuts are a huge part of our diet and it is not just limited to sweet dishes or desserts. We also use it in savoury cuisine as well such as laing laing (taro leaves simmered in coconut cream), monggo bean soup, ginataang (similar to a chicken curry in coconut milk), and so on! Of course they are popular in desserts as well such as ginataan and cassava cake.

But let’s not forget about a heavenly spread that is pretty much on par with Nutella: it’s called kaya, otherwise known as a coconut jam and it is a dream come true and a half. And I made it by accident. So proud of myself.

I was actually making my favourite recipe for raw vegan caramel at The Delicious Revolution and since I didn’t have any neutral-flavoured coconut oil, I ended up using what I had on hand: virgin coconut oil. For those who don’t know, not all coconut oil is the same. I usually use plain organic coconut oil and not virgin coconut oil. Virgin coconut oil is very fragrant and naturally, has a very strong coconut flavour. It’s good sometimes but I don’t want all my cooking or baking tasting like coconut.

So in this recipe, I used virgin coconut oil since I was in dire need of getting a new tub of organic coconut oil…and it tasted like a more creamy and delicious kaya! I was so excited…and so excited to share it with y’all!

Spread this on crackers, bananas, fill it in tarts, on top of brownies, sandwich inbetween cookies…or just eat it straight up with a spoon. Yup. Story of my life.

You’re welcome.
KayaKaya (coconut jam)

What you’ll need:
– 1/2 cup virgin coconut oil, solidified
– 1/2 cup almond butter
– 1/2 cup maple syrup
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1/2 tsp madagascar bourbon vanilla extract

What you’ll need to do:
1. Place all the ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth. Store in the fridge – can last up to 1 month in a sealed container. Makes 1 1/2 cups.

Leave a Reply

