Forever a noodle queen.

YakisobaIf there is one thing I can eat every single day, it would be noodles — specifically, Asian noodles. Whether it is pho, ramen, udon, jap chae, bibimguksu, soba, mee goreng, pad thai, or even instant noodles, it really doesn’t matter to me. I love it all. I seriously think I can live off it forever, not even kidding.

Something that I haven’t had in ages would be yakisoba. And since I had a bunch of leftover frozen vegetables and noodles, this was the perfect option for a quick, weeknight dinner.

I really haven’t had yakisoba in ages, maybe years. The last time I had yakisoba was probably in an all-you-can-eat restaurant and y’all know I haven’t been to one of those since I was maybe 17 or 18. It’s clear to say that it has been a little while.

This is basically another recipe where I was cleaning up my freezer and too lazy to head out to the grocery store to pick up extra ingredients (plus, I’m trying to be as economical as possible when it comes to grocery shopping). What did I have in my freezer this time? Frozen mixed vegetables and frozen Korean ramen noodles. I had used these noodles before when I made ramen a couple weeks ago and they were terrible! Ugh, definitely going with fresh next time. Just thought I’d try a new brand and that didn’t work out too well. Lesson learnt. And I’m aware ramen noodles aren’t the right noodles to use but hey, I was just using what I had on-hand. Convenience takes over on this one.

If you have fresh vegetables, I highly urge you to use those. Frozen vegetables are a nightmare that usually turn to mush when cooked too long. Nobody wants to eat that. I would add some julienned carrot, napa cabbage, pickled ginger and scallions. Again, up to you! I usually just follow the traditional route.

Anyways, this was pretty quick and of course, you can add chicken or tofu or any type of protein you would prefer. I was just lazy and wanted something quick to whip up.
Yakisoba Yakisoba Yakisoba YakisobaYakisoba

What you’ll need:

Noodles
– 3 pkgs (200g) ramen noodles (soba preferred), thawed
– 3 tsps ghee or vegetable oil
– 3 small onions, sliced thinly
– 2 cups frozen mixed vegetables
– 2 cups baby gai lan, steamed and chopped

Spicy yakisoba sauce (adapted from Just One Cookbook)
– 1 tbsp Worcestshire sauce
– 1 tsp oyster sauce
– 4 tsps ketchup
– 1 tsp soy sauce
– 1 tsp agave nectar
– 1 tbsp gochujang
– 1 clove garlic, minced
– Freshly cracked black pepper, to taste

What you’ll need to do:
1. Mix all the ingredients for the yakisoba sauce together. Set aside.
2. In a bowl, pour enough hot water to cover the ramen noodles. Let sit for 2-3 minutes, covered, until the the noodles begin to pull apart with a fork. Drain and set aside.
3. In a wok, melt your ghee over medium-high heat. When it is hot enough, add the onions and bring the heat up to high. Saute until it browns nicely, about 3 minutes.
4. Add the vegetables to the mixture and cook for 1 minute.
5. Add the noodles and the yakisoba sauce and stir fry for 5 minutes. You want the sugar content in the sauce to caramelize so it will lend a nice colour and char on the noodles. This adds a lot of flavour to the noodles.
6. Remove from heat and serve with sliced pickled ginger, crushed seaweed, and Japanese mayo if desired. Makes 4 servings.

https://umamiandme.wordpress.com/2013/04/12/how-to-make-tonkotsu-ramen-part-1/

Leave a Reply

