It’s never too late for pumpkin pie.

Raw pumpkin and kaya pieYes, I’m aware that it’s nearly mid-March but that has never stopped me from making pumpkin pie! But this time, I tried to put a healthier twist on it and made it a no-bake raw pumpkin and kaya pie.

Sigh. Again, this will be another one of Steph’s kitchen sink recipes. I’m sorry. I’ll have someting clever and fresh later in the week…hopefully.

What do you do when you have a can of pumpkin puree, a cup of white chocolate chips, leftover homemade kaya, and almonds? It sounds like an odd combination but you make pie with it. Yes kids, you make pie. My original intent was to just make this a pumpkin chocolate pie but it didn’t exactly go that way. Suddenly, I found myself wanting to get rid of everything. You know when you bake something with a specific ingredient and you buy that ingredient just for that recipe and then it gets hidden away in your cabinets for a very, very long time? Well, that’s what happened here. And my resolution was to use it all up in one delicious pie.

I had a vague outline of what I wanted to accomplish tonight: make a raw crust and pumpkin filling. I really enjoy graham cracker crust for no bake pies but since I did not have any graham crackers or crumbs and am trying to stay away from refined sugar, a raw crust it was going to be.

I will admit that I would prefer the filling to be set a bit more, but my roommate, her boyfriend, and my girlfriend Ceci all enjoyed it so I guess it was a winner in their books?! The perfectionist in me would do a lot of things differently but hey, practice makes perfect, right? I’m definitely no expert but I know what works in terms of my own preferences and whatnot.

Anyways, you can completely cut out the kaya (coconut jam) in this recipe and just double up on the chocolate. I think that would make a very tasty combination. Or add some pumpkin spice to make it an even more traditional pumpkin pie. Good luck!
Raw pumpkin and kaya pie Raw pumpkin and kaya pie Raw pumpkin and kaya pie Raw pumpkin and kaya pie Raw pumpkin and kaya pie Raw pumpkin and kaya pie Raw pumpkin and kaya pieRaw pumpkin and kaya pie

What you’ll need:

Crust
– 1 1/2 cups raw almonds
– 3 medjool dates, pitted
– 1 tbsp agave syrup
– 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

Filling
– 1 can (15oz) pumpkin puree
– 1 cup white chocolate, melted
– 1/3 cup homemade kaya
– 1 tbsp cocoa powder
– 1/4 cup virgin coconut oil
– 1 tbsp maple syrup
– 1 tsp madagascar bourbon vanilla extract

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a food processor, pulse together the almonds, dates, cinnamon and agave syrup. Place into the bottom of a 6″ round cake pan lined with parchment paper.
2. Add all of the ingredients for the pumpkin pie into the food processor and pour on top of the raw crust. Let the pie chill in the fridge for atleast 4 hours or overnight. Makes 1 6″ pie.

Leave a Reply

