Single-serving microwavable desserts.

Single serving oat cinnamon rollSo I saw Chocolate Covered Katie‘s Instagram the other morning on single serving oat cinnamon rolls and I pretty much had to make them almost immediately. I kid you not.

I don’t know what happened by single serving desserts that you can cook/bake in the microwave pretty much exploded in the last two years. I keep seeing it pop up on food blogs, Pinterest, Instagram, and so on. I guess people like the convenience of whipping up something in a mere matter of minutes vs. baking at 20 minutes or so. That, and also because people are trying to eat more conservatively (or more impulsively)? It’s to be argued. But for myself, personally, I find that I am drawn to these recipes because I usually end up giving away the treats that I make when I bake a whole batch OR eating 1/2 dozen cookies or something.

Even though I have my reservations about microwaves, the science behind it is very interesting to me. I don’t think I can live without a microwave. In fact, my ex-boyfriend didn’t have a microwave until I had moved in. He was pretty against having it and warmed everything up on the stove and/or conventional oven which was pretty remarkable in and of itself to me. Microwaves are extremely convenient but it changes the molecular construction of the food particles. It basically warps it and zaps the nutrition out of it. Anyways, I won’t preach on you guys on this but it’s a goal that I am trying to stray away from myself…but it’s so hard!!! Ahhhhh.

This recipe, however, can either be made in the oven or the microwave, actually. I had to try it out just as is and I think it worked out pretty well!? These cinnamon rolls have a nice crunchy exterior and are soft and warm on the inside. Feel free to add some cream cheese frosting on top if you’d like it decadent. For me, I stuck with my coconut-flavoured Greek yogurt. Heaven on its own and even better on the warm cinnamon buns.

These aren’t the most amazing cinnamon buns in the world but it really beats the 2-3 hour process to make traditional ones! This recipe also features healthier ingredients and won’t leave you as feeling as bad or sluggish after eating it. Enjoy!
Single serving oat cinnamon roll Single serving oat cinnamon roll Single serving oat cinnamon roll Single serving oat cinnamon roll Single serving oat cinnamon roll Single serving oat cinnamon rollSingle serving oat cinnamon buns (adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie)

What you’ll need:

Dough
– 1/2 cup oat flour + extra for dusting
– 1/2 tsp baking powder
– 1 1/2 tbsp organic coconut oil
– 4 tbsp overripe banana, mashed
– Pinch of salt

Filling
– 3 medjool dates, pitted and mashed with a fork
– 1/2 tsp cinnamon
– 1 tbsp maple syrup

What you’ll need to do:
1. In a medium-sized mixing bowl, mix all the ingredients together for the dough until it forms a ball. Set aside.
2. In a small bowl, mash the dates, cinnamon and maple syrup together until it forms a sticky paste. Set aside.
3. Dust some additional flour on a clean work surface and a rolling pin. Place the the dough on the floured surface and roll out into a long rectangle until 1/4″ thick.
4. Spread the filling all over the rolled out rectangle.
5. Fold over in half and roll.
6. Place into a greased ramekin (I split mine into two small baby cinnamon rolls) and warm up in the microwave for 2 minutes. Serve with cream cheese frosting. Makes 1 large cinnamon roll or 2 small ones.

Leave a Reply

