Lentil loaf success!

Brown rice and sprouted green lentil loafI am so excited to share this SUCCESSFUL brown rice and sprouted lentil loaf recipe with you. Why? Find out after the jump!

I remember reading about lentil loaves on food blogs a couple years ago and was SO excited to try it out. You see, I am a HUGE meatloaf lover. HUGE. If it’s on a menu, I will likely order it. This may be surprising to people because I usually pick the most exotic, crazy and weird item on a menu (ask all my friends – it’s true) but there comes a time when all I want is plain ‘ol comfort food. My favourite place ever would be Lucy’s Eastside Diner – meatloaf and mac ‘n cheese baby!

Anywho, I tried to make a lentil loaf a long time ago when I was still living at my parents’ place and it was a freakin’ disaster. It was bad. REAL bad, as in I threw the whole thing out. I was so disappointed because 1) I wasted a ton of ingredients and 2) it was complete MUSH. It was inedible. I was so sad…and since then, I have not attempted a lentil loaf since.

So here I am clearing up my freezer and I have two more packets of Helen’s Kitchen Veggie Grounds. I was not a huge fan of this brand of veggie grounds. It had a very strong red pepper taste (I hate peppers) and it just wasn’t working out for me. I found that it was really good in recipes that have a more dominant flavour (chili, pasta sauces, etc). This time I decided to use it in a second attempt for my lentil loaf and this time around I was adamant in NOT fucking up.

And it turned out wonderfully! I would have liked it to set some more but that was partially my fault for not waiting for it to cool (I was hungry). The recipe can be tweaked and I am happy to say that this won’t be the last time I will be making this. The best part about it is that it can be made the night before and just pop it into the oven when you’re ready to serve it! I would also maybe suggest making this into burger patties because the top gets nice and crispy and crunchy which is the best part of this dish. Also, if you wanted to make this gluten-free, just sub oat flour (make sure the oats are gluten-free) with the breadcrumbs. Ah, so proud of myself!

Try it for yourself!
Brown rice and sprouted green lentil loaf Brown rice and sprouted green lentil loaf Brown rice and sprouted green lentil loaf Brown rice and sprouted green lentil loaf Brown rice and sprouted green lentil loaf Brown rice and sprouted green lentil loaf Brown rice and sprouted green lentil loafBrown rice and sprouted green lentil loaf

What you’ll need:
– 3 tsps ghee or vegetable oil
– 1 medium onion, diced
– 2 cloves garlic, minced
– 2 cups cooked brown rice (cooked in veggie stock preferred)
– 1 1/2 cups sprouted green lentils
– 2 eggs
– 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, freshly grated
– 2 tsps Italian seasoning
– 1 tsp dried thyme
– 1/2 tsp dried sage
– 1 tsp savoury seasoning
– 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
– 1/8 cup ketchup + additional to layer on top
– 2/3 cup dried bread crumbs

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat the oven to 375F and line an 8×4 loaf pan with parchment paper. Set aside.
2. In a medium mixing bowl, combine the rice and lentils together. Roughly mash half of the mixture with a fork.
3. Add the rest of the ingredients and fold everything in until it is well incorporated. Pour into the loaf pan and pack it in. Squirt some ketchup on top of the loaf and spread evenly with the back of a spoon. Bake in the oven for 1 hour. Makes 4 servings.

Leave a Reply

