Reunited with tahini.

Tahini and almond cookiesAHHHHHHHHH I FINALLY HAVE TAHINI IN MY CUPBOARD AGAIN. I seriously went through tahini withdrawal for a good 3 months. So what do I do with it? Make David Lebovitz’ tahini and almond cookies, of course.

Seriously, I have been checking Superstore almost every fucking day for tahini. I’m not even lying. EVERYDAY. (That is why I am now the mayor of Superstore on Foursquare again). It’s $5.99 for this huge jar and they haven’t restocked in AGES. And it’s not like I can ask anybody there because the Metrotown location is a fucking zoo and you can’t find anyone or if you do, they don’t know anything. UGH.

So when I went to UNFI last weekend, it was to my delight that they carried tahini…organic AND only for $1.50! Holy shit! I should’ve bought two. Ridiculous. Anywho, I was so excited that they had this. I haven’t tahini in my pantry for MONTHS. It makes me sad because it is an absolutely vital ingredient in my kitchen. I use it when I make my spicy miso ramen, hummus, tahini-maple dressing, on top of eggplant and roasted veggies… Sigh. It has been way too long, my friend.

I didn’t have to use some right away but my roommate was also looking for a way to use up her almond meal. Now, I am aware that I could just French macarons but that is something that I have yet to tackle. I remember my sister making that one time and they didn’t turn out (also, maybe because it was summer and macarons are so temperamental). That challenge is for another day — and it’s coming up.

Anyways…these cookies are near perfect. If you are a fan of tahini, you will love these cookies. They soft, nutty and feature a melt-in-your-mouth texture similar to shortbread, minus the crunch. Some people might find these plain and would want to add some jam or something else to it. I had originally thought that way but once these cookies cooled down, I really enjoyed them! They made a great morning snack with tea this morning and they also freeze well. I actually made the whole batch and ended up freezing up half of the batch to bake up at a later date.

I also veganized this recipe as well but you are more than welcome to use butter if you please. I hate buying butter since it’s so expensive nowadays and since I have acquired a 7lb bucket of coconut oil, I might as well use it!Enjoy!!!
Tahini and almond cookies Tahini and almond cookies Tahini and almond cookies Tahini and almond cookies Tahini and almond cookiesTahini and almond cookies (adapted from David Lebovitz)

What you’ll need:
– 2 cups all purpose flour
– 1/2 cup almond meal
– 3/4 cup coconut oil, cut into cubes
– 3/4 cup granulated sugar
– 1 tsp madagascar bourbon vanilla extract
– Pinch of salt
– 2 tbsp water
– 3/4 cup tahini
– Coarse sea salt (optional)

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with a silpat mat or parchment paper.
2. In a food processor, blend the flour, almond meal, granulated sugar, and salt.
3. Add the coconut oil and vanilla extract and pulse.
4. Combine the water and tahini in a small bowl and slowly stream it into the food processor with the rest of the ingredients. A dough should form and it should be easy to handle. Remove the dough from the food processor and knead a few times.
5. Break off bits of the dough and roll into a ball, about 1 tbsp and flatten gently with your hand. Repeat and sprinkle coarse sea salt in each of the cookies.
6. Bake for 12-14 minutes. Makes 24 cookies.

Leave a Reply

