Crumby cookies.

Cake crumb cookiesI’ve found a new use for leftover cake: cake crumb cookies. Now, these are not to be confused with dehydrated cake crumbs that have been folded into cookie dough, this is straight up leftover pieces of day old cake that I had made into cookies. The result was actually pretty satisfactory.

As you may know, I have a cupcake company called Dolce Delights and have been faced with a problem that I’ve never had before: leftover cupcakes! When I started cupcake years ago, I was still in highschool/early university days and was quite active in both wrestling and cheerleading. Nowadays? Not so much. I mean, I work out and all but I am a lot more health conscious compared to when I was younger!

I had a custom cupcake order and ended up baking up just a few cupcakes for the client leaving the rest of the batter to make a small cake (which I ate) and a few barely-iced cupcakes I was going to give to my cousin-in-law. Since I didn’t make it out to see my cousin-in-law, I just had these almost naked cupcakes sitting on my counter.

I had made a matcha-flavoured cake and since this recipe is mostly comprised of cake, it imparts on whatever flavour your cake was. So, if you make a chocolate cake, it will largely be chocolate-focused. Nothing that I had a problem with at all. Matcha chocolate chip cake crumb cookies it is!

Another thing to note that I actually prefer these cookies after a couple days. They keep really well and are super moist. The reason I do not like them fresh out of the oven is because they are very…cake-like, as in the texture, is softer instead of crunchy and chewy which is the way I like to have my cookies. After it has sat for a couple days, the texture got better! It was more dense (or staler?) and actually made a delicious breakfast cookie that went well with tea. Hey, I will eat anything for breakfast!

So if you ever leftover cake from a party or gettogether, don’t throw it out! And DON’T resort to making cake pops — you most certainly have a choice here!
Cake crumb cookies Cake crumb cookies Cake crumb cookies Cake crumb cookiesCake crumb cookies

What you’ll need:
– 1/8 cup leftover icing (or sub coconut oil/butter)
– 1/8 cup coconut oil (non-virgin/scented)
– 1/4 cup granulated sugar
– 1 cup egg, room temperature
– 1 tsp madagascar bourbon vanilla extract
– 5 leftover cupcakes, regular-sized, icing removed and reserved, crumbled
– 1 cup all purpose flour (more if needed)
– 1 tsp baking soda
– 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
– Coarse salt (optional)

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat your oven to 350F with the rack placed in the centre. Line a baking sheet with either a Silpat mat or parchment paper. Set aside.
2. In a stand mixer, cream both the coconut oil and icing together on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. You may have to scrape down the sides a few times to ensure that everything is well incorporated.
3. Gradually add in the granulated sugar and beat again over medium for 1 minute.
4. Add in the egg and vanilla extract.
5. Reduce the speed to inbetween low and medium and add in the leftover crumbled cupcakes (about 1.5 cups).
6. Slowly add in the flour. The mixture should form into a dough. If the mixture is still too wet, feel free to add more flour — I would add in no more than 1/4 cup at a time. Add in the baking soda.
7. Lastly, fold in the mini chocolate chips.
8. With a tablespoon, scoop out the dough and roll into a ball and flatten on the baking sheet. These cookies do not spread very much. Sprinkle with coarse salt and bake for 10 minutes. Makes 12 cookies.

Leave a Reply

