Tofu “cheese”cake?

Banana coconut tofu cheesecakeA long time ago, I made a delicious tofu “cheese”cake that was “almost vegan”. I hated explaining that it was “almost vegan” because it had contained chocolate. I think that recipe isn’t even posted on here at all — it was way before Umami & Me’s time! But ever since then, I have been on a mission to make a completely vegan tofu cheesecake and I think I have finally created it. And not to mention this one is not only vegan, but it is also gluten-free AND (for the most part) sugar-free as well! Oh. My. God.

I would like to introduce to you my banana coconut tofu “cheese”cake.

I am very fond of Japanese rare cheesecakes. They are light in texture compared to a traditional cheesecake but it doesn’t skimp out on the flavour or the creaminess. I actually almost prefer it over regular cheesecakes because I find the latter is always so very heavy.

Japanese rare cheesecake (I don’t know why it’s called rare but if you find out, let me know) is a lighter type of cheesecake that secretly masks silken tofu in it. Tofu is blended up in addition to the regular ingredients of cheesecake but it results in a much lighter, less guilty cheesecake. They are completely delicious. Try it at a Hapa Izakaya – their matcha one is my absolute fave!!!

When I began researching recipes for rare cheesecakes, they still all featured cream cheese in them. I was disappointed. I had thought they were all tofu and some magical ingredient that just makes them taste superior to other cheesecakes. No, I was wrong. I continued to dig deeper and eventually found some recipes that incorporated the use of cornstarch (thickener) and/or gelatin (a setting agent) but I wasn’t interested in pursuing those routes. It felt as if I had reached the end of my journey: I was going to have to create my own recipe myself.

Given my own knowledge and preferences on this cake, I knew I did not want to use any type of thickeners or setting agents. I had some banana-flavoured tofu puddings as well as some overripe bananas — that would form the basis of my recipe. Besides chocolate, what else goes well with banana? Coconut! I was aiming for a very tropical tasting cheesecake since all I could think about lately is vacationing (JUST BOOKED MY FLIGHT TO SAN FRAN, YES!) and honestly, I think I achieved it.

This recipe largely strays away from the traditional but that is what I love most about cooking and baking. I really enjoy taking simple recipes and making it my own, making it into something that is so far away from the ordinary — and still have it taste amazing. I would suggest eating this all in one go — it doesn’t store very well after thawing, in my opinion. You can also throw it into a blender with your choice of milk and it makes a great smoothie base too!

Pretty sure you will die and go to heaven after tasting this. You’re welcome in advanced.
Banana coconut tofu cheesecake Banana coconut tofu cheesecake Banana coconut tofu cheesecake Banana coconut tofu cheesecake Banana coconut tofu cheesecake Banana coconut tofu cheesecakeBanana coconut tofu “cheese”cake

What you’ll need:

Crust
– 1 1/2 cups dried sweetened shredded coconut
– 4 tbsp coconut oil, melted

Filling
– 2 pkgs (150g each) tofu pudding, banana flavoured
– 1 large overripe banana
– 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
– 1/2 cup coconut butter, melted

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Line a 6″ circular cake pan with parchment paper. Set aside.
2. Mix the shredded coconut and coconut oil together and press into the prepared cake pan and bake for 15 minutes or until it is golden brown and crunchy. Let cool for atleast 15 minutes after removing from the oven.
3. In the meantime, throw all the ingredients for the filling into a food processor and blend until smooth.
4. Pour the filling into the cake pan overtop the coconut crust. Pop into the freezer for atleast 4 hours or overnight. Take out 1 hour before serving. Makes 1 6″ cake.

Leave a Reply

