Meat makes everything better.

Chipotle sausage and spinach pasta with vodka sauceEven though practically almost everything I make is vegetarian and/or vegan, I still crumble when it comes to meat. Don’t get me wrong – I just LOVE the stuff every once in a while. Like, for instance, I just had the most craziest craving for pho and it was so bad that I actually went to the Metrotown food court and grabbed a bowl from there. Desperate, much!? Nah, it’s just me answering my body’s natural calling to…meat. Instead of banning it altogether (which I think is SO bad when people are dieting — I’ve seen so many people yo-yo up and their bodies go up and down with this), I have enough self control to “treat” myself here and there.

Remember when I made that penne a la vodka sauce the other day and suggested that it would probably taste good with a saltier component? Yeah, I threw some sausages in the mix and it was pretty ridiculous. Can’t say no to chipotle sausage and spinach in spicy vodka sauce pasta.


I have been really trying to use up everything in my freezer and with a ton of success! The only thing I have left in my freezer would be some flatbread wraps, Coconut Bliss ice cream, edamame beans, scraps for stock, shrimp, and these random chipotle chicken sausages. Since my last recipe for penne a la vodka yielded a ton of sauce, I thought I’d throw my own spin and re-work the recipe a bit — this time to include some delicious spicy sausages and spinach.

To differentiate it a little, I chopped up the sausages, threw a couple handfuls of spinach in, and added some gochugaru (Korean dried red chili flakes) to really kick it up a notch. I also used toriglioni pasta instead which is kind of inbetween a rigatoni and penne. I actually thought it went so much better with this sauce than penne — it was toothsome, chewy, and had tons of little ridges that were just perfect to catch all of that deliciously spicy vodka sauce.

Again, since I was using my leftover sardine vodka sauce, I would suggest making it sans the sardines. It’s still good but if you don’t like that fishy flavour, just omit it. There’s plenty of flavour without the sardines. Go ahead and try it – it’s a great bowl of pasta.
Chipotle sausage and spinach pasta with spicy vodka sauce Chipotle sausage and spinach pasta with spicy vodka sauce Chipotle sausage and spinach pasta with spicy vodka sauce Chipotle sausage and spinach pasta and spicy vodka sauce Chipotle sausage and spinach pasta with spicy vodka sauceChipotle sausage and spinach pasta in spicy vodka sauce

What you’ll need:
– 250g pasta of your choice (I recommend penne, rigatoni, tortiglioni)
– 1 (375g) pkg of chipotle chicken sausages, sliced on the diagonal
– 1/2 recipe of vodka sauce
– 1 1/2 tsps gochugaru
– 1/2 tsp dried red chili flakes
– 5 cups baby spinach, loosely packed

What you’ll need to do:
1. Cook your pasta according to packaged directions in heavily salted, boiling water.
2. In the meantime, cook your sausage over medium-high heat in a dry skillet until cooked. Mine were fully cooked already so I cooked it for about 5 minutes.
3. Lower the heat to medium and add the vodka sauce and spices.
4. Add the spinach and cook until it has wilted down.
5. Once the pasta is cooked to al dente, transfer it to the sauce with a slotted spoon so it carries over some of the pasta water, about 1/3 cup. This will help the sauce coat the pasta better. Serve with freshly grated Parmesan cheese. Makes 4 servings.

One thought on “Meat makes everything better.

  1. Hello!

    Your blog has caught our attention because of the quality of the recipes. We would be delighted if you would join us at http://www.mytaste,com/ so that we could link to it.

    myTaste.com is a search engine that compiles the best American cooking sites and blogs from the Internet. Several hundred blogs are already enrolled here and are taking benefit from the traffic we are sending to their sites.

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards,
    Elin
    MyTaste.com

Leave a Reply

